Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Letter to Swedish Migration: Review Case of Navid Mirpourzadeh, Iranian Activist at Risk of Deportation 19 August 2011

Letter to Swedish Migration: Review Case of Navid Mirpourzadeh, Iranian Activist at Risk of Deportation 19 August 2011

Ratings: (0)|Views: 31|Likes:
Published by Maria Rohaly
In this letter, Mission Free Iran documents the reasons why Navid Mirpourzadeh may not, under international law, be returned to the Islamic Republic of Iran, as the Swedish government intends to do. The Swedish government must stop its inhumane and illegal efforts to return asylum-seekers at risk of detention, torture, and possibly execution, to Iran.
In this letter, Mission Free Iran documents the reasons why Navid Mirpourzadeh may not, under international law, be returned to the Islamic Republic of Iran, as the Swedish government intends to do. The Swedish government must stop its inhumane and illegal efforts to return asylum-seekers at risk of detention, torture, and possibly execution, to Iran.

More info:

Published by: Maria Rohaly on Aug 17, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

08/17/2011

pdf

text

original

 
 M I S S I O N F R E E I R A N | missionfreeiran@gmail.com (Farsi): +46. 73.520.3817 (English): +1.240.595.2633
2011-08-16To: the Swedish Migration BoardSubject: Request for a review of an asylum caseRe: Navid Merpourzadih 800321Born in Gachsaaraan,IranMigration Authority Reference No: 112408447Dear Sir/Madam!
We received with regret the news of Migration Authority’s decision to deport Navid Mirpourzadeh
, amember of our organization, coordinator of our campaign in support of political prisoners in Iran andtheir families, asylum rights activist, and an activist against execution and stoning.We strongly believe that the decision was taken either irrespective of the realities on the ground in Iran,
Navid’s previous home country, or du
e to lack of logical argument as a result of legal misrepresentation.Therefore we once again request a review and a new ruling o
n our member’s request for political
asylum status, and we request that he be given leave to stay in Sweden, the country that is hisdeliberate choice in which to live.
This time, to argue for our case, we would like to emphasize Navid’s political activities in Sweden,
where, thanks to the general respect for democratic values and individual rights
 –
unlike in Iran underthe Islamic Republic
 –
political activists
political activities for freedom in Iran and a humane governanceare conducted in total openness, transparency and are therefore documentable
 –
characteristics of political activity that are rare under dictatorships such as Iran, Syria, Libya, etc. [i], due to the nature of political and security realities on the ground.
Navid’s political activities in Sweden
 
Navid is a member of our organization, an international political group called Mission Free Iran (MFI). [ii]Our mission statement clearly calls for overthrow of Islamic regime in its entirety and the establishmentof a democratic, humane and progressive governance. We among others demand and campaign for the
Islamic regime’s expulsion from ILO, UNCSW, WHO
and other International institutions.
We were one of the initiators and major participants of the renowned international campaign, “SaveSakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani.” As a member of MFI, he is responsible for refugee
-related activities: MFIis one of four constituent organizations of the International Coalition for the Rights of Iranian Refugees(ICRIR). [iii]
As MFI’s Sweden
coordinator for refugees, Navid answers requests sent by individual asylum seekers inneed of legal, moral and social assistance; he also coordinates group actions striving for respect for therights of refugees, which are universally recognized under
 jus cogens
international law. Among ourrecent activities in which Navid played a central role, the cases of Keivan Soufastaei, Mohammad MehdiMaleki, Marzieh Kamangar and others should be mentioned
 –
all of whom were to be illegally delivered
 
 M I S S I O N F R E E I R A N | missionfreeiran@gmail.com (Farsi): +46. 73.520.3817 (English): +1.240.595.2633
to the hand of the Islamic regime and were saved thanks to the last minute decision of the Migrationboards to review and later grant them asylum status. [iv] Navid is also a co-administrator of the refugeerights advocacy site No Human is Illegal, as well as a board member of the campaign to support politicalprisoners and their families. [v]Since the time Navid was released from his political imprisonment, he has continued his politicalactivities. Political activity is and for the past 32 years has been a matter on the agendas of the majorityof Iranian people. This reality
 –
this revolutionary demand for change
 –
has been one of the reasons forthe excessive brutality, the overflowing prisons, torture and execution in Iran. Navid, like many others,did not stop his political activities after detention. He was forced to leave Iran, he entered Sweden,[vi]applied for refugee status in Sweden, and since that day he left, two years ago, not a day has passedwithout individual or organizational activity of some kind against the Islamic Republic.
Navid’s open, radical and public activities in
Sweden against the Islamic regime are well-documented.These activities include organizing demonstrations related to political campaigns against the Islamicregime by the political organizations we collaborate with. It should suffice to say that the IslamicRepublic is very well-
aware of Navid’s identity and his activities against the regime: His name a
ndphotograph appear with his email address and phone number on numerous social media sites as anorganizer of anti-regime protest actions.
As mentioned above, we as MFI were a major part of the forces behind the “Save Sakineh” campaign,
and Navid had a decisive role in organizing anti-stoning, anti-execution, and anti-Islamic Republic protestactions in which we exposed crimes of this regime against humanity, and primarily the Iranian people, aswell as the terrorist nature of its foreign policy. The following links show only a few actions in whichNavid has had a leading role or participated:
 
The 7 April 2011 episode of Nahade Mardomi, an anti-Islamic Republic satellite televisionprogram that is broadcast worldwide and into Iran (he appears from minute 17:30).http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A19XtDzkrbc
 
A 20 February 2011 demonstration in Örebro, Sweden, which is publicly available onyoutube.com, duri
ng which were shouted revolutionary chants of “Down with the IslamicRepublic!”and “Down with the Dictator!”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uO4CCtQ9v8
 
A 28 August 2010 demonstration in Örebro, Sweden, which is publicly available on youtube.comand was part of the 100 Cities against Stoning Campaign in support of Sakineh Ashtiani. Thiscampaign was the single-most devastating international indictment of the legitimacy of theIslamic Republic, causing turmoil inside the regime for months. Navid was interviewed atminute 2:07 and appears throughout the 10 minute clip.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8tauCs1GAw
Navid’s published activities as an ex
-Muslim (apostate)
Navid is an ex-Muslim and an atheist. He, like the majority of Iranians, is well aware of the reactionary,
barbaric nature the Quran’s teaching. As an atheist, he considered himself 
as having a duty to propagate
 
 M I S S I O N F R E E I R A N | missionfreeiran@gmail.com (Farsi): +46. 73.520.3817 (English): +1.240.595.2633
against a belief which has ruined the lives of millions of people in Islam-infested countries. As anindividual, he runs an anti-Islamic blog, as well as general political blog. One of his personal sites,http://navidsweden.blogfa.com/, has been filtered in Iran by the Islamic regime and its contents are notavailable to the Iranian readershipAs is well-known, being an ex-Muslim
 –
and an atheist no less
 –
constitutes the so-called crime of 
“apostasy” under shari’a law, which the Islamic Republic professes to adhere to. Apostasy, under shari’alaw, carries the death penalty. Writing against Islam is considered a crime of “blasphemy.”
 The Islamic Republic has recently handed down a death sentence to Yousef Nadarkhani on the charge of 
“apostasy,” despite the fact that no articles in the Islamic Republic’s legal code refer to such a crime; the
presiding judge based his opinion on texts by Iranian religious scholars. Behrouz Sadegh-Khanjani hadalso faced a possible indictment for apostasy; instead of execution, however, he has been handed aprison term.The best-
known example of the Islamic Republic’s position on the crime of “blasphemy” is that o
Salman Rushdie, author of the book Satanic Verses. Ayatollah Khomeini issued a fatwa against Rushdiein 1989, calling for his murder. The current dictator of the regime, Ayatollah Khamenei, reissued the callfor the murder of Salman Rushdie after Khome
ini’s death. The fatwa against Rushdie on charges of 
blasphemy remains in place and as late as 2007, Rushdie continued to receive threats against his lifefrom the regime.
The Islamic Republic’s stated position on Iranian political asylum
-seekers
It is expected that the Migration authorities are aware of the facts on the ground in Iran and well
updated; they therefore must be familiar with the Islamic Republic’s recently issued statements
regarding the use of Article 7 of the Islamic Penal Code to prosecute Iranian asylum-seekers who arereturned to Iran. [vii] Those who are familiar with the politics of Islamic Republic know that this regimedoes not respect any law, even the barbaric Islamic constitution. Regarding Article 7, if there are those
“fanatical optimists” who go to great lengths to translate the savage Shari’a law to as close to humane
as it could get, the leaders and guardians of the Islamic regime very recently left no room for optimismor creative positive translation: they have clearly stated their intentions to prosecute Iranian asylum-seekers
 –
particularly politically active refugees
 –
should they be deported back to Iran. [viii]
Summary
In light of Navid’s activities in Sweden alone, and only over the past 2 years, even if the Migra
tionauthorities disregard all his claims about his activities in Iran, it is clear according to documentedevidence as well as Islamic legal grounds that:1) as a political activist actively calling for the revolutionary overthrow of the Islamic regime in Iran,2) as an ex-Muslim propagating anti-Islamic and atheist beliefs, and

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->