Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
3:09-cv-02292 #818

3:09-cv-02292 #818

Ratings: (0)|Views: 31|Likes:
Published by Equality Case Files
Doc #818
Doc #818

More info:

Published by: Equality Case Files on Sep 27, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

09/27/2011

pdf

text

original

 
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728
1
(Defendant-Intervenors Dennis Hollingsworth, Gail J. Knight, Martin F. Gutierrez, Mark A. Jansson, and Protectmarriage.com’s Motion for Stay Pending Appeal, hereafter, “Motion toStay,” Docket Item No. 816.)
2
(Defendant-Intervenors Dennis Hollingsworth, Gail J. Knight, Martin F. Gutierrez, Mark A. Jansson, and Protectmarriage.com’s Motion to Shorten Time, hereafter, “Motion to ShortenTime,” Docket Item No. 817.)
3
(Order Granting Plaintiffs’ Motion to Unseal Digital Recording of Trial; Granting LimitedStay, hereafter, “September 19 Order,” Docket Item No. 812.)
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURTFOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIASAN FRANCISCO DIVISIONKristin M. Perry, et al.,Plaintiffs,v.Arnold Schwarzenegger, et al.,Defendants./ NO. C 09-02292 JW
ORDER DENYING AS MOOTDEFENDANT-INTERVENORS’ MOTIONFOR STAY AND MOTION TO SHORTENTIME; CONTINUING STAY OFSEPTEMBER 19, 2011 ORDER 
Presently before the Court are Defendant-Intervenors’ Motion for Stay
1
and Motion toShorten Time.
2
In their Motions, Defendant-Intervenors move the Court to: (1) stay its September 19, 2011 Order 
3
unsealing the digital recordings of the trial proceedings in this case, pendingDefendant-Intervenors’ appeal of that Order to the Ninth Circuit; and (2) decide their Motion to Stay“as soon as possible and no later than September 29, 2011,” because in the absence of a further stay,the September 19 Order will be executed on September 30, 2011, at which point Defendant-Intervenors “will be unable to obtain effective appellate relief.” (Motion to Stay at 1-2; Motion toShorten Time at 1.)
Case3:09-cv-02292-JW Document818 Filed09/27/11 Page1 of 4
 
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728
4
See Perry v. Brown, No. 11-17255 (9th Cir. Sept. 26, 2011).2Upon review, the Court does not find good cause to grant Defendant-Intervenors’ Motions, because the Court finds that both Motions are moot. In its September 19 Order, the Court stayed theexecution of that Order until September 30, 2011. (September 19 Order at 14.) Further, the Courtstated that the Clerk “is ordered to execute” the September 19 Order on September 30, 2011,“[u]nless a further stay is granted by the Court on timely motion or by a higher court.” (Id.
 
) OnSeptember 26, 2011, the Ninth Circuit stayed the Court’s September 19 Order “pendingconsideration of [Defendant-Intervenors’] emergency motion for stay pending appeal.”
4
Thus, theCourt’s September 19 Order is stayed due to the Ninth Circuit’s order.Accordingly, Defendant-Intervenors’ Motion to Stay and Motion to Shorten Time areDENIED as moot as it appears that the Ninth Circuit has already stayed the Court’s September 19Order.Dated: September 27, 2011JAMES WAREUnited States District Chief Judge
Case3:09-cv-02292-JW Document818 Filed09/27/11 Page2 of 4
 
   U  n   i   t  e   d   S   t  a   t  e  s   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t   C  o  u  r   t
   F  o  r   t   h  e   N  o  r   t   h  e  r  n   D   i  s   t  r   i  c   t  o   f   C  a   l   i   f  o  r  n   i  a
123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627283
THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT COPIES OF THIS ORDER HAVE BEEN DELIVERED TO:
Alan Lawrence Schlosser aschlosser@aclunc.orgAmir Cameron Tayrani Atayrani@gibsondunn.comAndrew Perry Pugno andrew@pugnolaw.comAndrew Walter Stroud stroud@mgslaw.comAngela Christine Thompson angelathompsonesq@gmail.comAustin R. Nimocks animocks@telladf.orgBrian Ricardo Chavez-Ochoa chavezochoa@yahoo.comBrian W Raum braum@telladf.orgCharles J. Cooper ccooper@cooperkirk.comCharles Salvatore LiMandri cslimandri@limandri.comChristine Van Aken christine.van.aken@sfgov.orgChristopher Dean Dusseault cdusseault@gibsondunn.comChristopher Francis Stoll cstoll@nclrights.orgChristopher James Schweickert cjs@wcjuris.comClaude Franklin Kolm claude.kolm@acgov.orgDaniel J. Powell Daniel.Powell@doj.ca.govDanny Yeh Chou danny.chou@sfgov.orgDavid Boies dboies@bsfllp.comDavid E. Bunim Dbunim@haasnaja.comDavid H. Thompson dthompson@cooperkirk.comDavid L. Llewellyn Dllewellyn@LS4law.comDiana E Richmond drichmond@sideman.comElizabeth O. Gill egill@aclunc.orgEnrique Antonio Monagas emonagas@gibsondunn.comEphraim Margolin ephraim_margolin@yahoo.comEric Grant grant@hicks-thomas.comEric Alan Isaacson erici@rgrdlaw.comErin Brianna Bernstein Erin.Bernstein@sfgov.orgEthan D. Dettmer edettmer@gibsondunn.comGordon Bruce Burns Gordon.Burns@doj.ca.govHerma Hill Kay hkay@law.berkeley.eduHolly L Carmichael holly.l.carmichael@gmail.comHoward C. Nielson hnielson@cooperkirk.comIlona Margaret Turner iturner@nclrights.orgJames Bopp jboppjr@bopplaw.comJames A Campbell jcampbell@telladf.orgJames C. Harrison jharrison@rjp.comJames Dixon Esseks jesseks@aclu.orgJames J. Brosnahan jbrosnahan@mofo.comJennifer Carol Pizer jpizer@lambdalegal.orgJennifer Lynn Monk jmonk@faith-freedom.comJennifer Lynn Monk jmonk@faith-freedom.comJeremy Michael Goldman jgoldman@bsfllp.comJerome Cary Roth Jerome.Roth@mto.comJesse Michael Panuccio jpanuccio@cooperkirk.comJohn Douglas Freed jfreed@cov.comJon Warren Davidson jdavidson@lambdalegal.orgJordan W. Lorence jlorence@telladf.orgJose Hector Moreno jhmoreno@jhmlaw.comJosh Schiller jischiller@bsfllp.comJosh Schiller jischiller@bsfllp.com
Case3:09-cv-02292-JW Document818 Filed09/27/11 Page3 of 4

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->