Part of a system administrator's job is configuring the system for various tasks, types of users, and hardware configurations. This section explains how to configure a Red Hat Enterprise Linux system.
28. Log Files
29. Manually Upgrading the Kernel
30. Kernel Modules
2. They can access certain files (normally special device files used to
access diskettes, CD\u00adROMs, and so on) that they would not
otherwise be able to access
Since there are multiple consoles on a single computer and multiple users
can be logged into the computer locally at the same time, one of the users
has to essentially win the race to access the files. The first user to log in at
the console owns those files. Once the first user logs out, the next user who
logs in owns the files.
In contrast,eve r y user who logs in at the console is allowed to run
programs that accomplish tasks normally restricted to the root user. If X is
running, these actions can be included as menu items in a graphical user
interface. As shipped, the console\u00adaccessible programs includehalt,
By default,/etc/inittab specifies that your system is set to shutdown
and reboot in response to a [Ctrl]\u00ad[Alt]\u00ad[Del] key combination used at
the console. To completely disable this ability, comment out the
following line in/etc/inittab by putting a hash mark (#) in front of it:
Alternatively, you may want to allow certain non\u00adroot users the right to
shutdown or reboot the system from the console using [Ctrl]\u00ad[Alt]\u00ad
[Del]. You can restrict this privilege to certain users, by taking the
are allowed to shutdown the system using [Ctrl]\u00ad[Alt]\u00ad[Del]. The
format of theshutdown.allow file is a list of usernames, one
per line, like the following:
According to this exampleshutdown.allow file, the users stephen,
jack, and sophie are allowed to shutdown the system from the console
using [Ctrl]\u00ad[Alt]\u00ad[Del]. When that key combination is used, the
users in/etc/shutdown.allow (or root) are logged in on a virtual
console. If one of them is, the shutdown of the system continues; if
not, an error message is written to the system console instead.
This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?