Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
EMP Commision

EMP Commision

Ratings: (0)|Views: 6 |Likes:
Published by pilot1966

More info:

Published by: pilot1966 on Oct 06, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PPT, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Commission to Assess theThreat from High AltitudeElectromagnetic Pulse (EMP):Overview
Dr. William R. Graham,ChairDr. John S. Foster Jr.Mr. Earl GjeldeDr. Robert J. HermannMr. Henry M. KluepfelGEN Richard L. LawsonDr. Gordon K. SoperDr. Lowell L. Wood Jr.Dr. Joan Woodard
EMP Commission Charter: Title XIVDuties of Commission
Assess the EMP Threat to the US:
Nature and magnitude of EMP threats within the next 15 years
From all potentially hostile states or non-state actors
Vulnerability of US military and especially civilian systems
Capability of the US to repair and recover from damage to militaryand civilian systems
Feasibility and cost of EMP hardening select military and civiliansystems
Recommend protection steps the US should take
Commission considered:
Only EMP threats produced by high-altitude detonation of a nuclear weapon
Threat assessment based on present and possible future capabilities ofpotential adversaries because of 15-year outlook
Dr. John S. Foster, Jr. (Director LLNL; Director DDR&E)
Mr. Earl Gjelde (Chief Engineer and Acting Director, Bonnevile PowerAdministration; Under Secretary Dept of Interior, COO, Dep of Energy)
Dr. William R. Graham (Chairman) (Director, OSTP; Science Advisor to PresidentReagan)
Dr. Robert J. Hermann (Director, NRO; Asst Sec USAF; Vice President, UnitedTechnologies)
Mr. Henry (Hank) M. Kluepfel (VP SAIC; Advisor to the President’s NSTAC)
GEN Richard L. Lawson, USAF (Ret.) (DCINC US European Command; DirectorPlans and Policy JCS)
Dr. Gordon K. Soper (PDATSD NCB; Director Nuclear Forces C3; Chief ScientistDCA)
Dr. Lowell L. Wood, Jr. (Director's Staff LLNL; Technical Advisor, SSCI & HASC)
Dr. Joan B. Woodard (Exec VP & Deputy Director Sandia National Labs)
Seven Commissioners were appointed by the Secretary of Defense andtwo by the Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->