Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Local Government

Local Government



|Views: 2,622|Likes:
Published by api-3852456

More info:

Published by: api-3852456 on Oct 19, 2008
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Local Government
Political subdivision of a nation or state which is constituted by lawand has substantial control of local affairs, with officials electedor otherwise locally selected.
In the Philippines, it refers to provinces, cities, municipalities,and barangays.
Importance of Local Governments 
As local affairs can best be regulated by the people in the localityrather than by the central authority, the grant of local autonomy tolocal units is considered extremely necessary for a more efficientlocal government system.
Territorial and Political Subdivisions of Local Government in the Philippines 
smallestlocal governmentunit in thePhilippinesand is the native Filipino term for avillage,districtorward.
In place names barangay is sometimes abbreviated as "Brgy" or"Bgy".
As ofDecember 31,2006there are a total of 41,995 barangays all over the Philippines.
Conceived during the administration of President FerdinandMarcos, replacing the old barrios and municipal councils. Thebarangays were eventually codified under the 1991LocalGovernment Code.
Historically, a barangay is a relatively small community of around50 to 100 families.
Came from an ancientMalayo-Polynesianboat called a
It is commonly believed that in pre-colonial Philippines, eachoriginal coastal “barangay” formed as a result of settlers arrivingby boat from other places inSoutheast Asia.
Upon the arrival of theSpanish, several ancient barangays werecombined to form towns.
Every barangay within a town was headed by thecabeza debarangay(barangay chief) , who formed part of the elite rulingclass of the municipalities of Spanish Philippines. The post was atfirst inherited from the firstdatuswho becamecabezas de barangay, but then was made into an elected post after theSpanish Regime.
The primary job of the cabeza de barangay was to collect taxes (called tribute) from the residents.
When theAmericansarrived, the term
went intoprominence, as the barangays were called by that name. The termwas kept for much of the twentieth century untilPresident Ferdinand Marcosordered the renaming of the barrios back tobarangay.
The municipal council was abolished upon transfer of powers to thebarangay system. Marcos used to call barangay as part of PhilippineParticipatory Democracy. Most of his writings involving the Newsociety he envisioned praised the role of Baranganic Democracy innation building.
After Edsa Revolution, and the Drafting of 1987 constitution, theMunicipal Council was restored, making the Barangay the smallestlocal government in Philippine Politics.
The modern barangay is headed by an elected official, theBarangay Captain, who is aided by counselors, also elected.Barangay elections are hotly contested.
The barangay is governed from the Barangay Hall. Barangay
- male volunteers paid a nominal honorarium - help maintain law andorder in the neighborhoods throughout the Philippine islands. Thequality of the organization at barangay level is one of thestrengths of the Philippines.Barangay OfficialsThe "barangay officials" is considered as a Local Governent Unit (LGU)same as the Provicial and the Municipal Government. It is composed of:
seven (7) Barangay Councils or
(SK) Chairman which is considered as amember of the Council.Thus, there are eight (8) members of theLegislative Councilin abarangay. Each member has its own respective committee where theyare Chairmen of those committees. The Committees are the following:(1)Peace and Order Committee(2)Infrastructure Committee,(3)Education Committee,(4)Health Committee,(5)Agriculture Committee,(6)Tourism Committee,(7)Finance Committee, and(8)Youth and Sports Committee.There are three (3) appointed members of each committee.

Activity (22)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads
Mariel Simora liked this
loui_pulse112 liked this
Genc Palabrica liked this
Tess Legaspi liked this
Wayan Sulaba liked this
khyati000 liked this
hunkshow liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->