Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
To Teach English Abroad

To Teach English Abroad

|Views: 3|Likes:
Published by paulallen1
I teach WHEN I want, WHERE I want, and WHO I want. I can do my job from anywhere in the world, or even from my own LIVING ROOM. I don’t have to commute anywhere or drive anywhere. I can CHOOSE who I want to teach and HAND-PICK my students. I’m totally IMMUNE to budget cuts, recessions, and politicians who want to SLASH my pay. Are you unhappy in your current teaching position? Do you want this type of lifestyle?
I teach WHEN I want, WHERE I want, and WHO I want. I can do my job from anywhere in the world, or even from my own LIVING ROOM. I don’t have to commute anywhere or drive anywhere. I can CHOOSE who I want to teach and HAND-PICK my students. I’m totally IMMUNE to budget cuts, recessions, and politicians who want to SLASH my pay. Are you unhappy in your current teaching position? Do you want this type of lifestyle?

More info:

Published by: paulallen1 on Jan 09, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





 ==== ====I teach WHEN I want, WHERE I want, and WHO I want. I can do my job from anywhere in theworld, or even from my own LIVING ROOM. I don’t have to commute anywhere or drive anywhere.I can CHOOSE who I want to teach and HAND-PICK my students. I’m totally IMMUNE to budgetcuts, recessions, and politicians who want to SLASH my pay. Are you unhappy in your currentteaching position? Do you want this type of lifestyle? Then simply CLICK on the link below.http://24f33r0zxk0l6o7b2gwcqpfg0y.hop.clickbank.net/  ==== ====I always keep my eyes open for interesting people, and Krista Scott just absolutely grabbed myattention. I first met Krista 2 days ago on a whitewater kayaking weekend where she accompaniedour group to do our first kayaking lessons on the Ottawa River. In the van she told us that sherecently did a 13 month trip to Australia where she did all sorts of harvest work in differentlocations. She also mentioned that she completed an ESL program at the university and isheading off for her first teaching assignment to Vietnam this fall. I knew at that stage that this wasa very interesting young woman and I decided I would get to know her a bit better. Krista is a very cute young woman, always in a good mood and sporting a great smile. Later thatevening, Krista gave a special performance after sunset at the campground of something called"poise", a former Martial art developed by the Maori people that involves the rhythmic twirling oftwo long wires that have a wick at the end that is set on fire. One of her co-workers was playingthe bongos and the performance did have a very aboriginal feel to it. The image that is created inthe dark is of circles of fires whirling around the performer in perfect coordination with the rhythm. So without further ado, here is Krista Scott, a very adventurous, endearing young woman, as youwill discover yourself. 1) Please tell us about yourself. I am 25 years old and I'm originally from Cobourg, Ontario. I have always loved the outdoors andloved to play outside. When I finished high school I wasn't ready for university. I went travelling tothe prairies and started working in a restaurant in Regina. I met a lot of cool people along the way.From there I went west to work in Alberta as well as in Whistler, B.C. There I worked in a grocerystore and at Boston Pizza and spent the rest of my time snowboarding. I also ran into a lot ofAussies there. I knew this was a place that was going to suck you in with its addictive lifestyle, so Idecided to head home. Based on my friendships with these people from Australia, I decided to geta working visa for that country, something that was pretty easy to get for a Canadian citizen. I haddecided I wanted to go to Australia to travel and work there for a year. 2) Please tell us about your 13 month adventure in Australia. After a couple of stopovers in Alaska and Hong Kong I landed in Australia. In Alaska I had achance to see the Aurora Borealis, while Hong Kong struck me as a very busy and smoggy place.But the airport is on an island, which was really interesting.
 I landed in Sydney and headed over to New South Wales to link up with a girl I had met atWhistler. I bought a 1984 Toyota Tourago camping van which had a flat nose because the enginewas right under the seat. I had a tent and a stove and I lived out of the van. During this time Irealized for the first time how little you need to live. I often slept on the roof of the van, looking atthe stars. In South Australia I stayed in a working hostel that connected me to harvest work opportunities. Ifound these places through the Lonely Planet guidebook, which was tremendously helpful. My firstharvest work assignment was to sort potatoes in a shed. This was midnight work since thepotatoes' skins would crack during the day time. The heat was often stifling at 42 degrees Celsius.After the potato harvest I also harvested grapes and onions. In total I did about 3 months ofharvest work there. At that time the engine in my camper van seized up and I had to buy a new engine. After it wasfixed, together with 8 other people we decided to drive to Central Australia and we visited Ayer'sRock (Uluru) and various other little towns in the area. I heard lots of outback stories from thelocals while we were there. We also went to a town called Cooper Pedy, a place where everybodylives underground in caves since the weather is too hot. We stayed in a hostel where thebunkbeds were located in a cave. While I was there I also talked to a group of Hell's Angels bikers,who seemed to be pretty cool people as long as you didn't upset them. From there I went to the West Coast which is just a beautiful area. There you can have all sorts ofbeaches to yourself. I went to a place called Exmouth and from there I explored the Nigaloo Reefwhich is unique since the corals start right at the beach. The scenery is breathtaking. While there Idid some harvest work and I ended up picking apples. Next I explored Northern Australia, including the cities of Cairns and Darwin. There I got asurfboard and did lots of surfing.I explored places like Margaret River and Esperance. My friendfrom Canada had joined me and we stayed in hostels, parked by the side of the road, camped incaravan parks. At that time I realized that sometimes a hot shower goes a long way.... Queensland was my next stop, it's a beautiful place with lush rainforest. I got myself a job inbanana harvesting, started working in the shed, sorting bananas. Then I asked to work outside,which was very unusual for a woman. I got to drive a 4x4 and cut down banans with a machete.Harvest work is done about 80% by backpackers. The local harvest workers are a different crowdof people and they sport some amazing mullets. They are a little reserved at the beginning, but ifyou make an effort they are really approachable. On the Gold Coast I met up with the same people I had travelled with earlier, we mostly did surfingand bummed around the area. We also checked out Frazier Island, did some swimming with thesharks and some skydiving. I later told my dad that I went skydiving and he said he would havereally worried about me if he had known. But when I was back in Canada, my dad and I decided togo skydiving together and he really loved it. That was great. My last stop in Australia was Sydney again from where I came home. The culture shock of comingback to Canada was harsh. I went from + 30 degrees to -25 degrees. I had also gone through thisamazing adventure, while life for my friends had pretty much stayed the same. It was difficult to
adjust when I came back. But it gave me the idea to take an ESL (Teaching English at a SecondLanguage) program to get myself an international career. 3) Please tell us about the ESL program that you took. The brochure for Trent University's ESL program literally fell into my lap one day. I decided to takea one-year program at Trent in Peterborough (Ontario). It's a great program, it's 2 semesters longand includes 100 hours of theory and 20 hours of practical teaching. The classes were small, therewere only 10 of us. Most of my co-students were retirees who were launching second careeers. 4) You have plans to go on your first ESL teaching assignment to Vietnam. What's in store foryou? In the first year after graduating you don't have a lot of choice with ESL since you don't have realteaching experience yet. I wanted to go to Vietnam, but I figured I would more easily be able to goto Korea or Japan where there is a big demand for certified ESL teachers. Contrary to China, inthese 2 countries you definitely need credentials to work in ESL. Through a stroke of luck I foundout that one of my friend's parents lives in Vietnam and he will be able to make some localconnections for me and I am planning to head over there in September. I don't know exactly yetwhere I am going to go, but I am sure I will find my first ESL assignment with his help. 5) You learned how to do "poise" (an impressive twirling of 2 long wires whose ends have a wickthat is set on fire) in Australia, tell us more about that. Poise was originally a martial art used by the Maori people and it involves two wires with a wick atthe end that is set on fire. Then at night you twirl the wires in different patterns around your body,usually set to music or drums. I met some people in Australia who taught me some pretty goodmoves and I have been performing occasionally in public or entertaining people on thecampground with it. It's a really fun thing to do. 6) You now work as an intern for this adventure travel company called Equinox. What do you dothere, how did you get the job? The way I landed this job was another one of these chance encounters. I was actually supposed todo a 6-week road trip out to Eastern Canada with a friend of mine. One day my brother and I wentto a pub and ended up chatting to Blair, who is the manager at Equinox' rafting location on theOttawa River. He had just lost an intern, so he asked me if I would be interested. It sounded greatso my friend and I decided to postpone the road trip and I am working right now as an intern forEquinox from mid-May to September until I go to Vietnam. Right now I am working as a cook and Ialso help out with the kayaking courses. I love being here, it's just like being a child. Work doesn't even feel like work, we have so much funhere. There is so much freedom here, you don't have four walls around you and people are just sofriendly. I am learning so much. I am learning about the white water, how to read the river and I ampicking up the basics of river rafting and kayaking. One day I might want to become a river guide.I'd definitely like to come back next year after my ESL assignment. 7) Tell me about the lifestyle here at this outdoor adventure camp.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->