Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Five Levels of Zen

Five Levels of Zen

Ratings: (0)|Views: 51|Likes:
Published by Astus
Five Levels of Zen by Guifeng Zongmi, translated from original
Five Levels of Zen by Guifeng Zongmi, translated from original

More info:

Published by: Astus on Feb 15, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





five levels of zen
Guifeng Zongmi
Chanyuan zhuquan jidu
Origins of the Various Chan Teachings
Zen has shallow and deep levels. They're different ranks. Those who strive for heaven and dislike worldlythings; that is the path of outsiders. Those who believe in causality but have likes and dislikes; that isordinary people's Zen. Those who see their self as empty; that is the small vehicle Zen. Those whorealise that self and phenomena are both empty; that is the great vehicle Zen. ... If one stops andrealises his mind as originally clear and pure, without vexation, the original self not lacking in wisdom bynature. that his mind is buddha without difference, relying only on this; that is the most superior vehicleZen, also called Tathagata Zen.
trans. by Huifeng:
(CBETA, T48, no. 2015, p. 399, b16-20)If one suddenly realizaes that the essence of one's own mind is originally pure, solitary and withoutdefilements, itself originally endowed with the nature of undefiled wisdom, that this very mind isbuddha, absolutely no difference, and thus cultivates based on that, this is the supreme unsurpassedChan, also named the pure Chan of the Tathagatas, also named the Single Act Samadhi, also named theSuchness Samadhi. This is the fundament of all samadhis. ----
(CBETA, T48, no. 2016, p. 586, b18-22)Records of the Mirror of the [Chan] School (f29):Dhyana (chan / zen) has four types:1. With ulterior motives, one appreciates what is above, and rejects what is below, in order to cultivate.This is the dhyana of non-Buddhists.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->