How To Become A Real Estate Agent In California?
The state of California is the hub of entertainment (Hollywood), hi-tech development (Silicon Valley),wine making (Napa and Sonoma Valleys) and agricultural production (Central Valley). TheCalifornia's economy is the strongest in the United States and if it is seen as a separate nation(independent country), it is between 7th and 10th (as statistics vary) in the list of the world's largesteconomies country-wise.Are you ready to become a realtor in this supreme region of the world? Thousands of agents aremaking millions of dollars annually. You can grab your share by becoming a licensed real estateagent in California. All you have to do is to pursue the following simple steps to get your salespersonlicense.Eligibility RequirementAn individual must be at least 18 years of age or above and must be a legal resident of the UnitedStates. It is not necessary that the applicant must be a California resident to get the license.Applicants residing in other states can get the license, but they have to file Consent to Service ofProcess (RE 234) with the California Department of Real Estate to get permission for operating inCalifornia.Good Character RequirementIndividuals must be honest and must not be involved in criminal activities. If an individual has aconviction, he or she might not get the license. Attempting to hide a criminal record is also groundsfor denial of the license.Fingerprint RequirementAccording to a new law, it is mandatory to provide fingerprints to the Department of Real Estate,California. The fee of the fingerprints is $51 which will have to be borne by the applicant.Educational RequirementThe department does not require any experience to get the license. However, the applicant mustcomplete the following three college-level courses:• Real Estate Principles (must be in progress at least and completed prior to applying for the license)• Real Estate Practice• An elective course (applicant has to complete one out of 12 approved courses)Remember! The Real Estate Practice course and an elective course must be in progress orcompleted at the time of applying for the license - they must be completed within 18 months afterissuance of the license.ExemptionMembers of the California State Bar are exempted from the college-level course requirement. To getthis exemption, they have to furnish the photocopy of a California State Bar membership card.Moreover, holders of LL.B or J.D degree can also get the exemption on the basis of education, butthey need to submit the proof of their qualification - the degrees should be issued "by the WesternAssociation of Schools and Colleges (or comparable regional accrediting agency recognized by the