Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
031612 SBJ award

031612 SBJ award

Ratings: (0)|Views: 8,157|Likes:
Published by Jamie Ramsey

More info:

Published by: Jamie Ramsey on Mar 20, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





March 19, 2012For Immediate ReleaseContact: Tom Nichols at (937) 228-2287, Ext. 140
Dragons Selected as Finalist for
SportsBusiness Journal 
“Professional Sports Team of the Year” Award
Other Finalists: Texas Rangers, Boston Bruins, Stewart-Haas Racing,Sporting Kansas City
The Dayton Dragons are among five finalists announced today for the prestigiousSportsBusiness Journal Professional Sports Team of the Year Award. The Dragons are joined as finalists by theTexas Rangers (MLB), Boston Bruins (NHL), Stewart-Haas Racing (NASCAR), and Sporting Kansas City (MLS).The Dragons are the first minor league team from any sport to be selected as a finalist for the award, which is inits fifth year of existence.The award honors one sports franchise based on an evaluation of “excellence, growth, creativity, innovation,sound planning, implementation and outcomes.” Entries are judged by a panel of editors, writers and researchersfrom the
SportsBusiness Journal and SportsBusiness Daily 
for the period from March 1, 2011 through February29, 2012.The winner will be announced at a ceremony on May 23, 2012 at the New York Marriott Marquis at Times Square.The award is open to all professional sports teams competing in the United States and U.S. national teams inleagues whose central offices are located in North America. Nominations were open to teams from Major LeagueBaseball (MLB), the National Football League (NFL), the National Basketball Association (NBA), NASCAR, MinorLeague Baseball (MiLB), the National Hockey League (NHL), Major League Soccer (MLS), the Women’s NationalBasketball Association (WNBA), and numerous other major league and minor league circuits.The award puts the Dragons in some impressive company. In 2011, baseball’s defending World Series championSan Francisco Giants won the award, while the other nominees were the Orlando Magic (NBA), the New YorkJets (NFL), the Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL), and Chip Ganassi Racing (NASCAR/IndyCar Racing). Typically,nominees have come from the top levels of major league professional sports.
Previous Winners of the Sports Business Journal Professional Sports Team of the Year
2011: San Francisco Giants (Major League Baseball)2010: Seattle Sounders (Major League Soccer)2009: Boston Celtics (National Basketball Association)2008: Boston Red Sox (Major League Baseball)
SportsBusiness Journal 
is the industry’s leading weekly trade publication. With bureaus in New York, LosAngeles, Chicago and Charlotte, and a network of more than 80 reporters, editors and guest writers,
SportsBusiness Journal 
provides breaking news and comprehensive reporting and analysis on the world of sportsbusiness, from media and marketing to facilities and finance.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->