Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
3Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
The Costume Designer Fall 11

The Costume Designer Fall 11

Ratings: (0)|Views: 286 |Likes:
Published by Local892

More info:

Published by: Local892 on Mar 25, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

04/06/2013

pdf

text

original

 
Costume Designers GuildLocal 892–I.A.T.S.E.11969 Ventura Blvd., First FloorStudio City, CA 91604
costumedesignersguild.com
The Official Magazine of the Costume Designers GuildNon-Profit Org.U.S. PostagePaidSanta Ana, CAPermit No. 450
 
4
The Costume Designer
Fall 2011
EDITOR’S NOTE
EDITOR/PHOTO EDITOR
Deena Appel
 ASSOCIATE EDITOR
Bonnie Nipar
PRESIDENT
Mary Rose
mrose@cdgia.com
 VICE PRESIDENT
 Van Broughton Ramsey
vramsey@cdgia.com
SECRETARY
Beth Pasternak
bpasternak@cdgia.com
TREASURER
Marilyn Matthews
mmatthews@cdgia.com
EXECUTIVE BOARD
Deena Appel
dappel@cdgia.com
 April Ferry
aferry@cdgia.com
Salvador Perez
sperez@cdgia.com
Cliff Chally
cchally@cdgia.com
Brigitta Romanov (ACD)
bromanov@cdgia.com
Felipe Sanchez (Illustrators)
fsanchez@cdgia.com
BOARD ALTERNATES
Robert Blackman
rblackman@cdgia.com
Julie Weiss
 jweiss@cdgia.com
Mark Bridges
mbridges@cdgia.com
Sharon Day
sday@cdgia.com
BOARD OF TRUSTEES
Peter Flaherty
pflaherty@cdgia.com
Jacqueline Saint Anne
 jsaintanne@cdgia.com
Karyn Wagner
kwagner@cdgia.com
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Rachael M. Stanley
rstanley@cdgia.com
COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR
Gina Silverstein
gsilverstein@cdgia.com
MEMBER SERVICES ADMINISTRATOR
Suzanne Huntington
shuntington@cdgia.com
RECEPTIONIST/SECRETARY
Cheryl Marshall
cmarshall@cdgia.com
PUBLISHER
IngleDodd Publishing
 ADVERTISING DIRECTOR
Dan Dodd 310.207.4410 x236
 Advertising@IngleDodd.comcostumedesignersguild.com
eauty in the DetailsIn the pilot episode of 
The Playboy Club
, I was sostruck by the perfection of the foundations and lingerie inthe dressing room scenes that it made me think about themany details that are generally overlooked and taken for grantedin projects large and small. Those details became the focal pointof this issue. As you read the story “Beauty in the Details,” if youare not a Costume Designer yourself, consider the great length onegoes to for such a small part of the whole. There’s always one thingthat becomes the big thing, sometimes we see it coming and other times it may catch us off guard. If you are a designer, you might smile to recall thosetimes when you searched high and low for the perfect pair of hose or just the rightbelt or a purse that tells you everything you need to know about a character at firstglance. Of course, your audience shouldn’t see you sweat, but every now and thenit’s nice to draw back the curtain and see what goes on in Oz.One of the most critical details in defining a character is most often cut rightout of the frame. What could be so influential and so expressive an accessory that itspeaks volumes even when it goes sight unseen? The shoe of course. I recently metthe lovely Meghan Cleary, self-proclaimed “Shoe Expert,” and was surprised to findthat on the heels of releasing her second book on the topic of shoes ( 
Shoe Are You? 
 ),she was eager and willing to contribute her musing on shoes and character and story for 
The Costume Designer 
. The first step for any character is to feel at home in his or her shoes. Meghan, more than most, inherently understands the value of the “right”shoe at the right time. Something we designers do not take for granted.On another front; why are we celebrating our 25th issue? To some it might seemtoo early; but if you consider the design and scope of 
The Costume Designer 
(with this issue being our largest to date), we’ve come a long way. For someone who hadzero experience producing, shepherding, designing, writing, editing and overseeinga magazine at the start, it’s been a great challenge and a pleasure getting to no. 25. Soindulge me. Thank you Sharon Day for all you’ve done, Audrey Fisher for a long ride,Bonnie Nipar for never saying“no,” IngleDodd for making itpossible and to all the contribu-tors who have managed to vol-unteer their time from the start.Lastly and sadly we bid fare- well to two extraordinary talents,Costume Designers Theadora Van Runkle and Ray Aghayan.Both recipients of CostumeDesigners Guild Career  Achievement Awards andbetween them, they were hon-ored with six Oscar nominations,four Emmy wins, four additionalEmmy nominations and a BAFTA nomination. We are thrilled to beable to share their earliest days with two scrapbook pages featur-ing each designer in the prime of their celebrated career.Happy 25th and a Joyous New  Year to all!
 Deena Appel dappel@cdgia.com
 
B

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->