Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more ➡
Buy Now $11.99
Standard view
Book view
of .
Add note
Save to My Library
Sync to mobile
Look up keyword or section
Like this
28Activity
×
×
×
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query

Table Of Contents

P. 1
The Garden of Happy Endings: A Novel

The Garden of Happy Endings: A Novel

Ratings:

4.21

(50)
|Views: 705|Likes:
From Barbara O’Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs.  After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding.   Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back.   But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish.From the Trade Paperback edition.
From Barbara O’Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs.  After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding.   Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back.   But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish.From the Trade Paperback edition.

More info:

Publish date: Apr 17, 2012
Added to Scribd: May 18, 2012
Copyright:Traditional Copyright: All rights reservedISBN:9780345534460
List Price: $11.99 Buy Now

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.
Buy the full version from:Barnes & NobleAmazon
See More
See less

04/12/2014

419

9780345534460

$11.99

USD

Activity (28)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
shannaredwind_1 reviewed this
Rated 3/5
I enjoyed it very much. The characters were quite real, and well developed. Usually I don't like switching from character to character, but I didn't mind in this book
jenniandtony reviewed this
Rated 5/5
I received this book as a free Early Reviewers giveaway and enjoyed every moment reading it. I think I may have even found a new favorite author. I loved the depth of this book. It explored love and relationship from some very fresh perspectives. It explored young love just beginning, an old relationship that is at the end of the road, a relationship that was lost may years ago and the strength that comes from building a relationship on friendship. While this story tackles some very intense subjects, it was a joy to read. I kept turning the pages hooked on what would happen next. I highly recommend this book!
diogo79_1 reviewed this
Rated 4/5
Another "LT" free book. This book was a joy to read, its about Elsa who is a Unity minister, and she has to deal with a crisis of faith, she finally makes peace with it. Faith based it allows you to realize that even those of us who are deep believers can reach our lows. Would recommend this book to anyone, I also look forward into reading other books by this author.
bookfanmary reviewed this
Rated 5/5
Another winner from one of my favorite authors. Reverend Elsa Montgomery is going through a crisis of faith after the brutal murder of a young parishioner. She's so angry that God would allow such an unspeakable act that she's not sure she can continue as a minister. She takes a sabbatical from her Seattle church and goes home to Pueblo, Colorado to work through things. When she gets there she finds her sister Tamsin going through a life-changing upheaval of her own. Her missing husband has been charged with running a Ponzi scheme that stole millions. She finds herself homeless, penniless and not sure where to turn. Elsa and Tamsin wind up living in the small house where they grew up. Elsa reconnects with the parish priest who also happens to be her former boyfriend. He broke off their engagement twenty years earlier when he had a calling to the priesthood. They managed to stay friends and kept in touch over the years. Ultimately he becomes the catalyst to Elsa finding her way back to her faith. Through him she meets many people (wonderful primary and secondary characters) who help her along the way.Tamsin has lived a life of privilege but is now happy to accept a job in the fabric department at Walmart. She also helps out with a new community garden program at the parish. She learns that she may not have been as happy or content in her old life as she thought. In fact, she realizes how lonely her life had become. Watching both women find their way on such personal journeys made for an emotional reading experience.Barbara O'Neal is a wonderful storyteller. Her characters and story truly resonated with me. I can't ask for more than that.
chutzpanit reviewed this
I really enjoy Barbara O'Neal and all her books. She writes very intense books that always reflect on the past and this was no exception. It was interesting to me to read about a man that chose the priesthood over the love of his life and then to read about his regrets later.But this book isn't about him so much as it is about a woman, a pastor, who loses her way after the brutal murder of one of the teens in her congregation. I was overwhelmed with the brutality but then so touched by the way she found her way back.
godsgirl_1 reviewed this
Rated 3/5
This book was just ok to me. I really liked the subject of the whole book, but I just could not follow the story. It jumped around so much that I could not keep the characters straight. I really wanted to like it more than I did.
lrobe190 reviewed this
Rated 3/5
After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding. Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back. But the two sisters are strong and their involvement in the local church's community garden in a very poor part of town allows them to heal and make decisions about moving on with their lives. (Amazon desc.)This was a pleasant read and allows the reader an inside look at the life of a Catholic priest. Much of the book explores the power of faith and how it affects people differently. The characters were very likeable and the plot kept me reading until the very end. I would recommend this book to readers who are looking for a "feel good" book and who are comfortable with discussions about faith and religion.
aquariusnat reviewed this
Rated 4/5
This is a beautiful story about hope and faith ! When a horrible tragedy occurs it shakes the faith of a minister . Rev. Elsa goes back to her hometown to find solace and rebuild her faith . The story also gives a new life for Elsa's sister Tasmin . I loved this story ! It was so heartwarming to read a story about renewal of faith without being "too preachy" . I will definitely look into the author's other books ! This one is now one of my faves !
tanya2009_1 reviewed this
Rated 4/5
I finally received this book that I won through Librarything. This is a book about hope and renewal. Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith and turns to the one person from her past to help her make sense of her feelings. The only problem is he is also a priest and they used to be in love. They both have to work out their feelings while staying strong for others around them. This was a decent read but not one I couldn't put down.
dksthomson reviewed this
Rated 5/5
Plain and simple, I loved this story. Even beyond the evil lurking and causing tragic outcomes in a few cases, the love and hope is strong and palpable. Most of the characters are dealing with a crisis of faith, searching for God, and the reason that evil happens, but it does not get preachy. This book is a winner and I look forward to Barbara O'Neal's next book.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
P. 1
The Garden of Happy Endings: A Novel