Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Loser

Loser

Written by Jerry Spinelli

Narrated by Steve Buscemi


Loser

Written by Jerry Spinelli

Narrated by Steve Buscemi

ratings:
4/5 (83 ratings)
Length:
3 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Jan 8, 2008
ISBN:
9780061628733
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

Description

From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen.

Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip."

Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero."

With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

Publisher:
Released:
Jan 8, 2008
ISBN:
9780061628733
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

About the author

Jerry Spinelli received the Newbery Medal for Maniac Magee and a Newbery Honor for Wringer. His other books include Stargirl; Love, Stargirl; Smiles to Go; Loser; Jake and Lily; Hokey Pokey; and The Warden’s Daughter. His novels are recognized for their humor and poignancy, and his characters and situations are often drawn from his real-life experience as a father of six children. Jerry lives with his wife, Eileen, also a writer, in Wayne, Pennsylvania.



Reviews

What people think about Loser

4.1
83 ratings / 39 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    What exactly defines a Loser when you don't think of yourself that way
  • (5/5)
    I loved this book sooooo much! ! ! ! !
  • (3/5)
    It was an ok book. Three stars rating,could have been a better ending.
  • (3/5)
    even though it was a short read it was really refreshing to read a book about school that was normal. It wasn't about a popular kid who looked down their nose at everyone and it wasn't about a kid who was bullied day in day out and just wants it to stop. Donald Zinkoff is in his own world most of them time. He's very happy go lucky.and doesn't let most get him down. He loves school even though he doesn't excel at it, and trys to make friends with everyone despite being ignored and made fun of. For most of it he's completely oblivious to the other kids taunts and doesn't seem to be 'normal'What I liked about this books is even though he had a hard time at school he never let it get the better of him or feel sorry for himself. It wasn't a spectacular book and it wasn't bad. It was good for a short light hearted story
  • (5/5)
    This book is a very moving story. It is about a boy that gets bullied and picked on in school. In the end, it elevates to a life and death situation. This book was read to me in 6th grade, and I absolutely loved it. It was realistic fiction
  • (3/5)
    this was one of my son's required reading books for 7th grade, so I read it behind him to see what the schools are assigning. This one is about a boy named Donald Zinkoff. He has such a zest for life & a joy in the world around him, yet in reality he is clumsy, awkward, & not really good at anything specific. It's painful to watch him struggle his way through his mishaps at school, at the hands of his schoolmates, & his increasing isolation as the one friend he did have moves away. By the time he reaches middle school & becomes self aware & more mature, he tones down his ebullient ways more, trying harder to fit in. But it really doesn't work. However, by the end of the book, one boy seems to want to give him the chance to be a part of a group. I think it ended somewhat ambiguously because you want to imagine that he will strike up a friendship with this boy. Very good read!