Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo

Written by Lesley Adkins and Roy Adkins

Narrated by Patrick Lawlor


The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo

Written by Lesley Adkins and Roy Adkins

Narrated by Patrick Lawlor

ratings:
3.5/5 (4 ratings)
Length:
22 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Sep 3, 2007
ISBN:
9781400174836
Format:
Audiobook

Description

Roy Adkins, with his wife, Lesley, returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleon's seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life-shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war.



The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history sure to appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.
Publisher:
Released:
Sep 3, 2007
ISBN:
9781400174836
Format:
Audiobook


About the author

Lesley Adkins, an archaeologist and Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London, is the author of several reference books as well as The Keys of Egypt: The Race to Read the Hieroglyphs, the account of the decipherment of Egyptian hieroglyphs. She lives in Devon, England, and is married to Roy Adkins, also an archaeologist and writer.

Related to The War for All the Oceans

Related Audiobooks

Reviews

What people think about The War for All the Oceans

3.5
4 ratings / 3 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (5/5)
    The War for All the Oceans covers all major, and some less well known, naval actions from the latter part of the revolutionary war, to the end of the Napoleonic. As is always the case with the Adkins's work, it is meticulously researched, well presented and very hard to put down.Although it is crammed full with information, and could certainly be used as one, I consider this more than just a reference book: the term conjurers up lists of details and dates that can make for dry, academic reading. The War for All the Oceans tells a story, and tells it well, with a blend of authoritative commentary and original reference material that almost involves the reader in the research. It is a style that the Adkins are masters of, and makes their work extremely readable. Extensive maps, illustrations (many of which were new to me), a comprehensive index and bibliography, and a selected reading list finish off the package perfectly. Fascinating and compelling reading: highly recommended.
  • (4/5)
    A must for all fans of Patrick O'Brian. A very interesting, easy to read history of Britain's navel power in the 18th and 19th centuries. Provides a great overview of the times.
  • (4/5)
    A stupendous account of the events in the naval theater from a period beginning with the Battle of the Nile in 1798, through Napoleon's diasporic voyage to St. Helena. An entertaining narrative moves in and out of an extensive series of selections from journals and other first-hand accounts. Thin sketches describe some of the major players in the navies of the era. Particular attention is paid Sydney Smith and Thomas Cochrane, two of Britain's most underrated naval heroes. Curiously for a work on the war at sea, the authors provide several interesting anecdotes about Napoleon. Particularly interesting is the description of Napoleon, captive master of HMS Bellerophon awaiting his fate while in British waters. Crowds of Britains surrounded his vessel and thousands came to the coast in hopes of catching a glance of the little man who had so nearly achieved an Alexandrian destiny. Highly recommended to anyone intersted in the war at sea.