Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success

Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success

Written by Matthew Syed

Narrated by James Clamp


Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success

Written by Matthew Syed

Narrated by James Clamp

ratings:
3.5/5 (173 ratings)
Length:
7 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Apr 20, 2010
ISBN:
9780062009012
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

Description

In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success-in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you'd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell's The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.
Publisher:
Released:
Apr 20, 2010
ISBN:
9780062009012
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

About the author

A two-time Olympian and a graduate of Oxford University, Matthew Syed is a columnist for The Times (London), a commentator for the BBC, and a recipient of the British Press Award for Sports Journalist of the Year, and was named British Sports Feature Writer of the Year by the Sports Journalists' Association.



Reviews

What people think about Bounce

3.7
173 ratings / 16 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    Highly entertaining book with a good message--hard work and thoughtful practice is much more important than 'talent.' I had read two of the books that he draws examples from which made parts of the book rather derivative. However, the original parts, especially those dealing with his table tennis career, were delightful.
  • (5/5)
    So many useful insights in this book for coaching.
    The important of putting the effort (quantiy) + the quality of training (purposeful exercising) and the important of the coaching to make an athlete succeed at a higher level.

    There is no magic formula only:
    Countless hours of work + quality training + quality entourage.
  • (5/5)
    Excellent book. Really clear conclusion and helpful examples. A nice companion to outliers by Malcolm Gladwell.
  • (4/5)
    Good literary non-fiction work, which draws together findings of several scient;ts (Ericsson, tc.) to support the idea that 10 years practice is what leads to expertise and that that genetics do not play a strong role in predicting sports success.
  • (4/5)
    Highly entertaining book with a good message--hard work and thoughtful practice is much more important than 'talent.' I had read two of the books that he draws examples from which made parts of the book rather derivative. However, the original parts, especially those dealing with his table tennis career, were delightful.
  • (4/5)
    An interesting book about how people like Mozart and Federer really got good (hint: it's not because they were naturally good or had innate talent).