Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

Written by Edgar Allan Poe

Narrated by Simon Jones


The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

Written by Edgar Allan Poe

Narrated by Simon Jones

ratings:
4.5/5 (110 ratings)
Length:
8 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Jun 1, 2010
ISBN:
9780062011497
Format:
Audiobook

Description

"Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act." - James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

Publisher:
Released:
Jun 1, 2010
ISBN:
9780062011497
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Edgar Allan Poe né le 19 janvier 1809 à Boston et mort le 7 octobre 1849 à Baltimore. Il est un poète, romancier, nouvelliste, critique littéraire, dramaturge et éditeur américain, ainsi que l'une des principales figures du romantisme américain.



Reviews

What people think about The Upside of Irrationality

4.5
110 ratings / 28 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (5/5)
    It you`ve ever thought you were a rational being, think again, or why is it important to know behavioural economics and what it can teach us.
  • (5/5)
    One of the best and most entertaining collection of insights woven together with an inspiring amd hopeful narrative. Lots of brilliant inisghts, will have to listen again. The narrator delivers the humour of the text perfectly.
  • (5/5)
    I found this book to be very informative. I'd recommend it to a friend.
  • (5/5)
    I enjoyed this book so much I listened to it twice. Dan Ariely is obviously skilled at research and academic writing, but this book is extremely aproachable. I liked how he performed formal research processes on everyday topics that are relevent and timely. This is not a self help book but you can't help but walk away with a different perspective about your own thoughts and behaviors and those of other people.

    I enjoyed his casual, witty, and personal writing style. He is a gifted storyteller turning a potential research case study into a thoughtful reflection on why we do the crazy things we do.

    Now, I intend on reading all of Ariely's books.
  • (3/5)
    Lots of helpful materials found in this book. Very nice
  • (4/5)
    I really enjoy Ariely's work - when isn't it fun to make fun of economists? - but I do have some problems with psychology experiments generally. Particularly ones that don't take any culture effects into account. (I'm sorry, but you just can't generalize from women clicking on a website to how women feel about dating men generally.)