Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Counterfeit Magic

Counterfeit Magic

Written by Kelley Armstrong

Narrated by Laural Merlington


Counterfeit Magic

Written by Kelley Armstrong

Narrated by Laural Merlington

ratings:
4/5 (22 ratings)
Length:
2 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Dec 2, 2010
ISBN:
9781400189755
Format:
Audiobook

Description

The first rule of a supernatural fight club? Don't kill your opponent.



When the fighters come with lethal spells, werewolf strength, and half-demon powers, that can be a lot tougher than it sounds. It's hard to attract talent if they know they might not leave the ring alive. So when fighters at a California club start dying, it's bad for business.



Witch detectives Paige Winterbourne and Savannah Levine take the case. Going undercover in the power-heavy arena of the fight club is a welcome change of pace for Paige, relegated to the role of The Wife as her husband struggles to find his place in his family's Cabal-the corporate Mafia of the supernatural world.



As Paige is drawn deeper into new and dangerous corners of her world, she quickly discovers the greatest threat isn't the killer in her sights. It's something much, much closer to home. And this is one fight she can't afford to lose.
Publisher:
Released:
Dec 2, 2010
ISBN:
9781400189755
Format:
Audiobook


About the author

When librarians finally granted Kelley Armstrong an adult card, she made straight for the epic fantasy and horror shelves. She spent the rest of her childhood and teen years happily roaming fantastical and terrible worlds, and vowed that someday she'd write a story combining swords, sorcery, and the ravenous undead. That story began with the New York Times bestselling Sea of Shadows and continues with Empire of Night. Armstrong's first works for teens were the New York Times bestselling Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising trilogies. She lives in rural Ontario with her husband, three children, and far too many pets.


Related to Counterfeit Magic

Related Audiobooks
Related Articles

Reviews

What people think about Counterfeit Magic

4.2
22 ratings / 11 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (3/5)
    I enjoyed listing to this novella. It was short. It got exciting at the end. I figured Ava was up to something.
  • (3/5)
    Another of SubPress's gorgeous packagings. It's a novella, and like the previous one they put out, rather slight, but fun for all that. "Supernatural fight club" definitely gets my attention, and I didn't see the end coming. It handled a nice little character loose end in the overall series. Solid (and did I mention pretty?)
  • (4/5)
    This novella features Paige, Lucas and Savannah and a case at their investigations agency. A half-demon comes to hire them to investigate her brothers' death at a supernatural fight club. She also makes a major play for Lucas. While Lucas goes off with her to investigate one end of the case, Paige and Savannah go off to investigate the fight club. The case quickly gets more complicated than they thought.Paige is feeling more uncertain about Lucas since he has become more involved in the Cortez Cabal. She knows that that organization of male chauvinist sorcerers will never accept her, a female witch, as anything except an eccentricity of Lucas's. She is worried that Lucas will come to the same conclusion. This case seems designed to play on her fears.This story is a lot about trust and how people can grow and change in a relationship. Paige and Lucas' relationship is tested in this one. This was also an entertaining mystery involving characters fans of the Women of the Otherworld series have come to know. It was a great added glimpse of that world for those fans. I recommend it for fans of the Women of the Otherworld series.
  • (5/5)
    Kelley Armstrong is a progeny when it comes to supernatural writing. Her books leave you breathless with their racy romances, the constant struggles, and the exciting stories. She does all of this effortlessly and you have no choice but to plummet without stumbling straight into her world. She has created such a strong presence in all of her characters that everything about them makes them seem real! You get so caught up in their stories that you feel you are a part of them. I cannot say enough good things about Kelley!
  • (2/5)
    Not my favorite Women of the Otherworld book, but Paige sometimes gets on my nerves.
  • (5/5)
    I'm still a fan of Armstrong's writing. I find her characters engaging and her novels easily devourable. This novella was a fun little extra for fans of Paige and Savanna. I found the idea of a supernatural fight club extremely silly. Paige does a lot of gazing at her own naval, but it was more interesting than whiny.
  • (4/5)
    Kelley Armstrong fits loads of action into a small package that revisits my favorite characters in her Otherworld series.
  • (4/5)
    Good little story, emphasis on little. for the completist. Well produced novella by a small press, but out of the main story by definition.
  • (4/5)
    “Counterfeit Magic” is a short novella in The Otherworld series about Paige and Lucas and life for them after the deaths of Lucas’s 2 older brothers. Lucas and Paige are spending a lot of time a part because he needs to be helping his father Benicio with the Cortez Cabal leaving Paige to decide her best place to be supportive. She is having a hard time because having your own identity is not something that is possible for a female or a witch in the male, sorcerer dominated Cabal environment. Paige loves her husband and is forever supportive of Lucas, but the time apart along with her internal disappointments, which she hides from him, are putting a strain on the marriage. It is in this atmosphere that the 2 of them take on a case for Ava Cookson concerning the death of her brother after she looses a match during a supernatural fight club. Ava is more than infatuated with Lucas while dishing out some double helpings of bitch to Paige. Paige and Savannah decide to investigate the fight club leaving poor Lucas alone with Ms. Cookson to chase down the brother’s gambling debts. What Paige and Lucas haven’t realized is that nothing in this investigation will make sense until they start working together again. This is the 2nd short novella that Kelley Armstong has done focusing on a back-story for a particular character. My overall impression on the tale was favorable and entertaining. I enjoyed the beginning and the premise along with the initial investigation. It was nice to see Paige’s point of view for Savannah and Adam’s relationship and her opinion of Savannah as a young adult. So as you start out and fly along, chapter per chapter, the easy rhythm and excellent writing Kelley is known for flows forth and you start to enjoy the tale. As we approach the end of the story, there is a surprise revelation for our main characters, which also I felt was well played. You almost smile to yourself when you realize what has happened because it makes the HEA a possibility. Unfortunately the final chapter falls short on the wrap up and is disappointing. Paige and Lucas deserve a little more than what they get in that last chapter, especially after the story we just read. Lastly, is my comment about the artwork for the novella. The artwork, no matter what version you have, is spectacular. I gave the story 4 stars because I would recommend this story to any fan of the series.
  • (5/5)
    Kelley Armstrong is a progeny when it comes to supernatural writing. Her books leave you breathless with their racy romances, the constant struggles, and the exciting stories. She does all of this effortlessly and you have no choice but to plummet without stumbling straight into her world. She has created such a strong presence in all of her characters that everything about them makes them seem real! You get so caught up in their stories that you feel you are a part of them. I cannot say enough good things about Kelley!
  • (4/5)
    Kelley Armstrong fits loads of action into a small package that revisits my favorite characters in her Otherworld series.