Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Hot Pursuit

Hot Pursuit

Written by Suzanne Brockmann

Narrated by Renee Raudman


Hot Pursuit

Written by Suzanne Brockmann

Narrated by Renee Raudman

ratings:
4.5/5 (10 ratings)
Length:
13 hours
Released:
Jul 28, 2009
ISBN:
9781423342793
Format:
Audiobook

Description

Alyssa Locke is no stranger to dealing with danger. As team leader of the nation's number one personal security company, Troubleshooters Incorporated, she's seen more than her share of action, survived plenty of close calls, and holds her own with the best of them-and against the worst of them. Guarding lives is her game, and no one plays it better. But her toughest challenge will be protecting herself from a serial killer she's been after for years, a fiend who is determined to make her his ultimate trophy.

The assignment was supposed to be an easy one: teach self-defense techniques to a newly elected congresswoman and her chief of staff after a political controversy makes them the target of death threats. But among the blizzard of hate mail from hotheads and cranks are the terrifyingly familiar taunts of the sadistic multiple murderer known as The Dentist. Mysteriously silent after a decade-long killing spree, he has suddenly resurfaced, attracted by Alyssa's growing celebrity-and the diabolical desire to turn the tables on his pursuer.

In an effort to stay one step ahead of The Dentist, Alyssa mobilizes her squad of moonlighting Navy SEALs in New York City. But between bodyguarding two independent, busy women, butting heads with a hard-case cop who thinks that the Troubleshooters are chasing shadows, and trying to find time for her husband, Troubleshooters operative Sam Starrett, and their infant son, Alyssa has her hands full. Meanwhile, it wouldn't be a Troubleshooters operation without romantic sparks and heated rivalries-and any time the SEALs of Team Sixteen are involved, there are plenty of both. But when new threats and fresh bodies make it clear that The Dentist is back in bloody business and much closer than anyone suspects, Alyssa's only priority becomes bringing down her monstrous nemesis once and for all, even if it means forcing a confrontation that only one of them can survive.
Released:
Jul 28, 2009
ISBN:
9781423342793
Format:
Audiobook


About the author

Suzanne Brockmann is an award-winning author of more than fifty books and is widely recognized as one of the leading voices in romantic suspense. Her work has earned her repeated appearances on the New York Times bestseller list, as well as numerous awards, including Romance Writers of America’s #1 Favorite Book of the Year and two RITA awards. Suzanne divides her time between Siesta Key and Boston. Visit her at www.SuzanneBrockmann.com.

Related to Hot Pursuit

Related Audiobooks

Reviews

What people think about Hot Pursuit

4.3
10 ratings / 6 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Hot Target is the fifteenth of the Troubleshooters series written by Suzanne Brockmann. The way that I read this one was through audio, and is the usual form of reading I do for Brockmann's books, especially the Troubleshooters series. I have just loved being able to get into these wonderful stories. Hot Pursuit begins with Alyssa Locke and her husband Sam Starret get involved in this story. Where they are to protect a important political figure and her staff, after receiving some serious threats, and this being a close friend to Savannah who is married to one of the SEALs on the Troubleshooters team. Also joining the brigade is a close friend Jules Cassidy, an agent in the FBI and one of Alyssa's closest friends. However throughout this story we also see a couple other side stories involving Izzy Zinella and Danny Gillman, who are also on the Troubleshooters teams and SEALS. In Hot Pursuit, a man referred to as the "Dentist" has been haunting Alyssa and Jules for years. But when deaths start to occur that give clues that he is back, Alyssa has a feeling that she is the target, and that with her husbands and the rest of the teams help, to outwit the one who has evaded them since Alyssa got involved in his case which has been for many years. So hold on to your seat as you go on a thrilling adventure and see some of your favorite characters from this astounding Troubleshooters Series!!I just love being able to read this book, it was such a wonderful one!! However this is not my first time being able to listen to it. I just recently started a challenge to read the whole Troubleshooters Series, and so this was the first book available so I started to read it "Audio" style. But out of all of the books in this series, Hot Pursuit is the one that resembles a Sherlock Holmes novel more than her usual romantic suspense plots, however despite that, it added a certain spice to the series, that I would love to see more of. It left me in suspense the whole way through, with surprises along the way that I didn't expect, even though it was my second time reading it. I also enjoyed the side stories involving the two SEALs that we have come to love, Izzy and Gillman, who have always been at each others throats for the most part, however we start to see their personal stories to come through, and both leaving me in suspense and wondering what is going to happen in the next book involving these two. I can hardly wait!! So if your looking for a romance with a thrilling plot, a mystery that needs solving, and few romances between some of our favorites, hop on and enjoy the ride that will take your breath away!!

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)
    I'd forgotten how much I enjoy the Troubleshooters series. This one has Sam & Alyssa, introduces Jenn to Dan (Gillman), and some Robin & Jules, plus there's a suspense plot about the serial killer known as the Dentist - first introduced in some of the free shorts Brockmann wrote for fans of Sam & Alyssa.I really enjoyed it - the only thing which bothered me was that I really started to notice the author's habit of saying "And, yeah, okay" variations on those 3 words - after so many books, it's getting a little old for me. But really, if that's the only thing I can think of, that's saying to me that this is a pretty great book.
  • (3/5)
    While I do love the Troubleshooters series, the bad guy (a serial killer obsessed with Alyssa Locke, a security consultant for Troubleshooters) is campy and ridiculous.However, I did love that Izzy was in the story - still pining over Eden, his estranged young wife - and the scenes between Dan Gillman and Jenny were VERY sexy. Not sexy was the repeated mentions of her being 'thick," "solid," and "chunky," and very plain. While yes, I hate those stories where every woman is beautiful and the men are not handsome but rugged and manly, but this was headed into somewhat insulting territory. Dan does get scolded a *bit*, but it's still annoying.Kind of wish I'd skipped this one...
  • (4/5)
    Loved seeing the characters again, and to get some resolution on the Dentist. However, I really didn't care for Danny Gillman - the romance between him and Jen just didn't do it for me. It seemed too contrived, and the only reason it was able to happen was because of total lack of professional competence on Gillman's and the rest of the team's part. But, their romance was just a part of the book, and the rest of the book did rock. I love Sam and Alyssa, and it was good to see some more or Jule and Robin (though I don't know any particular reason that Brockmann threw Robin in other than she wanted to), and I'm very very intrigued about what will happen next with Izzy.
  • (5/5)
    Sam and Alyssa, along with baby Ashton and the Troubleshooters team, travel to New York City to teach a Congresswoman and her interns self-protection methods. Soon it becomes apparent that a serial killer has targeted the office and their `easy assignment` becomes a fight for their lives. Fifteenth in the Troubleshooters, Inc. series. Brockmann always tells a current story and then adds a backstory from previous books. This time the story is about Dan Gillman whose sister Eden married Izzy in the previous book. Brockmann also brings back `The Dentist,` an uncaught killer from Into the Storm. These books are hot, sexy, and fast reads. Highly recommend the series.
  • (3/5)
    Alyssa Lock, former Naval officer and former FBI agent is a team leader for one of the nations top personal security companies, Troubleshooters, Inc.They are asked to provide a course in publis safety to the newly elected New York congresswoman, Maria Bonavita.The team travels to New York and sets up security around Maria. At the same time we are privy to the thoughts of a killer known only as The Dentist. He was about to turn himself in to Alyssa and had the body of his last victim in the trunk of his car. He saw Alyssa enter a Starbucks and followed her in to surrender to her. When he entered, she was talking to someone else, one of the SEALS. The Dentist lost his moment and decides this is a sign to go on killing. He makes the next target, Alyssa.Since this is the fifteenth installment of Troubleshooters, the author assumes that the reader is familiar with the characters. Unfortunately, this was my first exposure to the group. Therefore there wasn't any character development and the characters were stereotypical and one dementional.In addition, I felt that the antogonist's near invincibility until the end of the story was a reach. With the navy SEALS looking for him and the New York police department, The Dentist went about his business of attempting to murder Alyssa as if he didn't have anything to worry about.