Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Gone-Away Lake

Gone-Away Lake

Written by Elizabeth Enright

Narrated by Colleen Delany


Gone-Away Lake

Written by Elizabeth Enright

Narrated by Colleen Delany

ratings:
4/5 (288 ratings)
Length:
5 hours
Released:
Jan 1, 1957
ISBN:
9781593163952
Format:
Audiobook

Description

Enjoy the adventures of eleven year-old Portia, who together with her younger brother, Foster, spend a summer with their cousin, Julian, engaged in more than the usual summer pastimes of sun, fun and games!

The three intrepid children soon discover a fascinating abandoned summer resort, consisting of deserted crumbling Victorian summer homes surrounding a vanished lake, which is now a swamp. But, best of all, they discover and befriend an elderly eccentric brother and sister who tell them the story of Gone-Away Lake!
Released:
Jan 1, 1957
ISBN:
9781593163952
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Elizabeth Enright (1907-1968) was born in Oak Park, Illinois, but spent most of her life in or near New York City. Her mother was a magazine illustrator, while her father was a political cartoonist. Illustration was Enright's original career choice and she studied art in Greenwich, Connecticut; Paris, France; and New York City. After creating her first book in 1935, she developed a taste, and quickly demonstrated a talent, for writing.  Throughout her life, she won many awards, including the 1939 John Newbery Medal for Thimble Summer and a 1958 Newbery Honor for Gone-Away Lake. Among her other beloved titles are her books about the Melendy family, including The Saturdays, published in 1941. Enright also wrote short stories for adults, and her work was published in The New Yorker, The Ladies Home Journal, Cosmopolitan, The Yale Review, Harper’s, and The Saturday Evening Post. She taught creative writing at Barnard College. Translated into many languages throughout the world, Elizabeth Enright's stories are for both the young and the young at heart.



Reviews

What people think about Gone-Away Lake

4.1
288 ratings / 18 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    Portia and her brother travel by train to visit her cousin, Julian. Portia and Julian love exploring the new place, and come across a bog and an elderly brother and sister pair who live in a "ghost town" that used to be a community when the bog was a lake and Mrs. Minnehaha Cheever and Mr. Pindar Payton were young. The four become fast friends, and Portia and Julian have adventures all summer.This Newbery Honor was a charming story I would have loved as a child. Portia and Julian have a lot of freedom to go off in the woods, bring a lunch, and spend a lot of time without adult supervision and I wonder what today's kids would think of that. The intergenerational relationships were really sweet and well executed. I could see this being a good readalike for The Penderwicks or The Moffats.
  • (3/5)
    Listened to Listen and Live's eAudio production narrated by Colleen Delany.

    Delany did a fine job on the narration although her voices for the younger boys were not my favorites. The gender roles are pretty dated, but that's a product of its time. I can't decide if this would hold up alright for today's kids or not. I think for kids who like stories of the past it would probably still work. I listened to this over the course of a couple months in between other things while working on chores and such and the episodic structure made that reasonable. This would work well on a list of gentle reads and would be a good nighttime read aloud for kids not ready to read chapter books on their own.
  • (5/5)
    Gone-Away Lake is a fun and adventurous story about a brother and sister from the city taking the train to spend the summer with their country cousin. The children discover and old, mostly abandoned summer colony of houses near a swamp that once was a lake. The meet and elderly sister and brother, Minnehaha Cheever and Pindar Payton who live in the old homes where they used to spend their summers years and years go. The story follows the young children and their adventures at Gone-Away Lake.
  • (4/5)
    Portia and her brother Foster spend the summer with their aunt and uncle in the country, discovering, with cousin Julian, a decrepit set of lake houses abandoned when the lake dried up into a swamp.I liked this book immediately, despite never having read it pre-adulthood. Who doesn't imagine having the best summer of their lives exploring fully-furnished abandoned ancient houses? The swamp adds more fun: the kids are immediately attracted to frogs, butterflies, red-winged blackbirds and tromping around in the mud.
  • (5/5)
    This was a great, easy going summer book about a boy and a girl (cousins) who go off exploring and discover a ghost town of houses on the edge of a swamp. They meet two elderly people who grew up spending their summers there, and explain to the children that the swamp used to be a beautiful lake before a dam was built a few miles away. The kids are so taken with the two older people (who they later call aunt and uncle) that they sneak off away daily to visit their secret place, which always provides new things to do and to discover. A great family summer story--very mellow, though, so I don't recommend it to people looking for any kind of adventure or fantasy; just a fun old fashioned story.
  • (4/5)
    I read this book during a summer reading program when I was a child. After all the years, I couldn't remember the name, and then I found it on a website, and immediately reserved them at my public library. My 10 year old LOVED them!