Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Free for 30 days, then $9.99/month. Cancel anytime.

How Will You Measure Your Life?

How Will You Measure Your Life?


How Will You Measure Your Life?

ratings:
4.5/5 (239 ratings)
Length:
5 hours
Publisher:
Released:
May 15, 2012
ISBN:
9780062189615
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

BookSnapshot

Also available as...

BookSnapshot

Description

From the world's leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator's Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen's The Innovator's Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple's Steve Jobs said "deeply influenced" him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch's The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen's A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen's How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader-student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child-forge their own paths to fulfillment.
Publisher:
Released:
May 15, 2012
ISBN:
9780062189615
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

BookSnapshot

About the author

CLAYTON M. CHRISTENSEN (1952–2020) was the Kim B. Clark Professor at Harvard Business School, the author of nine books, a five-time recipient of the McKinsey Award for Harvard Business Review’s best article, and the cofounder of four companies, including the innovation consulting firm Innosight. In 2011 and 2013 he was named the world’s most influential business thinker in a biennial ranking conducted by Thinkers50.


Related to How Will You Measure Your Life?

Related Audiobooks

Related Articles


Reviews

What people think about How Will You Measure Your Life?

4.6
239 ratings / 23 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (3/5)
    From the author of the _Innovator's Dilemma_. The epilogue is the best part. this book also includes Christensen's essay about how strategic innovation was the key to Netflix's success as compared with and contrasted with Blockbuster Video's market decline. Although the book is not really about innovation or markets.
  • (5/5)
    A life changing book. Easy too read, hard to forget. Every page brings action items to improve one's life.
  • (5/5)
    Simply Life Changing!! I will be listening to this again?
  • (4/5)
    Good read! Makes you think about what really is important in your life
  • (5/5)
    Incredible stuff! The book covers the different aspects that we need to balance in life and in work and the importance of finding our purpose
  • (5/5)
    Phenomenal book! Clayton Christensen does a superb job at showing how have a successful and more importantly a meaningful career and life. Unlike your average self help best seller, How Will You Measure Your life simply articulates grounded business theories and case studies in ways that are applicable to anyone’s personal life. I’ve read this book twice and plan on reading many more times over.
  • (5/5)
    This book helps you to set a point in your life.
  • (2/5)
    This book is for employees, not entrepreneurs. Its up to you reading it.
  • (5/5)
    Thoughtful, inspiring and memorable. Worth listening to, especially in critical junctions of life
  • (5/5)
    This is an important book I recommend for everyone. definitely a turning point for me.
  • (4/5)
    I really Enjoyed the flow of this book and the focus placed on finding purpose.
  • (5/5)
    I may not have discovered my purpose after reading 15 chapters but I have received insights enough to discontinue a path of marginal thinking. Thanks Clayton for your gifts
  • (5/5)
    What a masterpiece. Clayton is a true academic and dare I say, a saint of business theory. As a young person just starting my professional journey this was a very impactful read.
  • (5/5)
    Clayton Christensen gives a good guide, especially to young people disillusioned about their future for one reason or the other. As it is said, stay the course - everything good will come. I ABSOLUTELY recommend this book!
  • (5/5)
    A brilliant use of business principles to explain life choices.
  • (5/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    A great good book, it forced me to reevaluate my life in business and family, and to put things in perspective.
    #BeKindAlways

    1 person found this helpful

  • (2/5)

    2 people found this helpful

    This book was not what I thought it would be. I've had Christensen's The Innovator's Dilemma on my List to read for a while now, not yet finding the time to get to it and when I saw this title, I made that connection, but did not know Christensen's background. There may be a target audience for this book. I am not that audience. And I don't personally know anybody who is.The best thing about this book is that it is a simple, fast read (the start/stop dates do not reflect that - I kept diverting myself), and requires no additional thought. To save a reader time, here are two sentences to summarize... - an old anecdotal proverb: No one ever said on his/her death bed "I wish I'd spent more time at the office."- and a paraphrase of a Stephen Stills lyric: "I you can't have the job you love, find a way to love the job you have." (and keep looking for the dream job.)How will I measure my life? Apart from the normal answers, I also have a sobering projection of how many books I have left to me to read: I am 57, read more than 100 books per year, and if optimistically live another 35+ years...I only have 3500 books left to me! I wasted one of those precious few on this.

    2 people found this helpful

  • (5/5)
    Excellent book, hope Scribd bring us more Clayton M. Christensen audiobook's, specially "The Innovator's Dilemma"
  • (4/5)
    Full
    Of valuable life lessons and information
  • (2/5)

    2 people found this helpful

    The author is a religious man who is also a professor. He has encountered some health problems and came home from studies at Oxford to be with his dying father. He promotes family and integrity. I agree with some of his rather obvious concepts but overall this is a pretty useless book.

    2 people found this helpful

  • (5/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I enjoyed this book. I avoid this kind of book, but this was great. It made me think of some aspects of my life and job that I can improve. It helped me to understand how what I am doing now will influence my future. The business theories he discussed were quite interesting. I would like to know more about them. I can't remember much about them because they were not treated in depth, but I know that I want to learn more!

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)
    Based on the lifelong learnings of the same thinker behind The Innovator's Dilemma, this work attempts to counterbalance most of the B-School curriculum with a thoughtful treatise on personal choices and ethics. I enjoyed how well Christeneon ties business strategy and economics to corporate culture and even family culture. For example, the lesson that "Companies focus too much on what they want to sell their customers, rather than what those customers really need," translates into a relationship lesson about figuring out what loved ones really need from you. There are similar lessons about the investment of time, process skills as a core capability, and effective culture. 
  • (3/5)
    Takes his business theories and tries to map them to life. Interesting but lacked direction. Overall this audio is short with a few good ideas that will make you think.