Start Listening

The Age of Fable: Part One, Chapters 1-14

Written by
Narrated by and
7 hours


Thomas Bulfinch, as one reviewer put it, "Created an anthology of mythology." This audiobook contains the first 14 chapters of The Age of Fable, the first of three volumes, comprising Bulfinch's complete work. The Age of Fable recounts stories of Greek Gods, Demigods and the best known characters in mythology.

In our times, many references are made to these stories and characters in the arts, especially in the fine arts, theatre, and literature.

The stories include:
1. Introduction.
2. Prometheus and Pandora.
3. Apollo and Daphne - Pyramus and Thisbe - Cephalus and Procris.
4. Juno and Her Rivals, Io and Callisto - Diana and Actaeon - Latona and the Rustics.
5. Phaeton.
6. Midas - Baucis and Philemon.
7. Proserpine - Glaucus and Scylla.
8. Pygmalion - Dryope - Venus and Adonis - Apollo and Hyacinthus.
9. Ceyx and Halcyone: or, the Halcyon Birds.
10. Vertumnus and Pomona.
11. Cupid and Psyche.
12. Cadmus - The Myrmidons.
13. Nisus and Scylla - Echo and Narcissus - Clytie - Hero and Leander.
14. Minerva - Niobe.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.