Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 daysStart your free 30 days

Book Information

Justinian's Flea: Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe

Justinian's Flea: Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe

Written by William Rosen

Narrated by Barrett Whitener

Book Actions

Start Listening
Ratings:
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars4/5 (30 ratings)
Length: 11 hours

Description

The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself.



Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
Read More
Justinian's Flea: Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe

Book Actions

Start Listening

Book Information

Justinian's Flea: Plague, Empire, and the Birth of Europe

Written by William Rosen

Narrated by Barrett Whitener

Ratings:
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars4/5 (30 ratings)
Length: 11 hours

Description

The Emperor Justinian reunified Rome's fractured empire by defeating the Goths and Vandals who had separated Italy, Spain, and North Africa from imperial rule. At his capital in Constantinople, he built the world's most beautiful building, married its most powerful empress, and wrote its most enduring legal code, seemingly restoring Rome's fortunes for the next 500 years. Then, in the summer of 542, he encountered a flea. The ensuing outbreak of bubonic plague killed 5,000 people a day in Constantinople and nearly killed Justinian himself.



Weaving together evolutionary microbiology, economics, military strategy, ecology, and ancient and modern medicine, William Rosen offers a sweeping narrative of one of the great hinge moments in history, one that will appeal to readers of John Kelly's The Great Mortality, John Barry's The Great Influenza, and Jared Diamond's Collapse.
Read More