Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Only $9.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Marty McGuire

Marty McGuire

Written by Kate Messner

Narrated by Cassandra Morris


Marty McGuire

Written by Kate Messner

Narrated by Cassandra Morris

ratings:
4.5/5 (8 ratings)
Length:
1 hour
Released:
May 1, 2011
ISBN:
9780545383721
Format:
Audiobook

Description

Meet Marty McGuire! Marty would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty’s absolutely, positively sure that there’s been a huge mistake! But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her own plan to improve the play. Maybe a princess in muddy sneakers can live happily ever after, after all!
Released:
May 1, 2011
ISBN:
9780545383721
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Kate Messner is a former middle-school English teacher and the author of E. B. White Read Aloud Award winner The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. and its companion, The Exact Location of Home; Sugar and Ice; Eye of the Storm; Wake Up Missing; All the Answers; The Seventh Wish; Capture the Flag; Hide and Seek; the Marty McGuire chapter book series; the Ranger in Time chapter book series; and several picture books. She lives on Lake Champlain with her husband and two kids. When she's not reading or writing, she loves hiking, kayaking, biking, and watching thunderstorms over the lake. www.katemessner.com @KateMessner


Related to Marty McGuire

Related Audiobooks


Reviews

What people think about Marty McGuire

4.6
8 ratings / 6 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    Marty is a tomboy who isn’t interested in dress up like the other girls. She loves frogs and entering the third grade. This year her best friend, Annie starts to hang out with the girly girls. At school she is cast as the princess in the play, but Marty decides to be her own kind of princess.
  • (5/5)
    This little gem is for the discerning reader who is ready for characters and plots that go beyond your basic Junie B Jones stories. Marty is navigating the rough waters of third grade... her best friend is more into dancing these days than tadpole hunting, and Marty's mother doesn't understand why she keeps having various recess adventures that cause her to be sent home in the nurse's emergency set of clothes. It's bad enough when Mrs. Aloi tells her class that they're going to be putting on a production of The Frog Prince (yuck-- princesses with poufy dresses), but then Marty finds out that she has been cast in the lead role of the princess. As the production gets under way, though, Marty and the rest of the class find out there is a lot to be learned from the world of drama, thanks to Mrs. Aloi's college professor friend James. And Marty discovers that maybe some princesses do like frogs, as she puts her own spin on the performance. Marty's interactions with her family and classmates ring humorously true. Brian Floca's sketches throughout complement the charm and energy, and I love how Mrs. Aloi even looks a little like the author! Marty is a protagonist that young elementary readers will love!
  • (5/5)
    Marty McGuire might be my new favorite book! A great choice for readers new to chapter books.
  • (5/5)
    From the back of the book:"That nice Mrs. Kramer lied to me about third grade. On the last day of school, she gave us cupcakes with sprinkles and little beach umbrellas and said have a super-duper summer and she'd wave to us in the hallway next year. She said third grade would be even more fun than second grade. She said we'd read bigger books and keep our old friends and make new ones and even get to be in the school play.None of it is true. Because Veronica Grace Smithers has stolen my best friend and taken over recess."In the tradition of Ramona, Clementine, and Judy Moody, Marty McGuire is quite a character. I loved this story. This is an excellent book for young readers who are ready to move beyond Junie B. Jones (parents will like Marty better than Junie.) Marty is a strong character who deals with the challenges of changing friendships, bossy classmates and the typical pitfalls of being a third grader. Marty's relationships with her friends and family are very realistic and will strike a chord in young readers.This is one of my favorite new finds! I can't wait to read more about Marty's adventures.Recommended for 3rd Grade and up.Mrs. Archer's rating 5 of 5!
  • (4/5)
    This is the story of a girl named Marty McGuire who loves to adventure, climb trees, and catch frogs. However, Marty is struggling. She is struggling with the transition to third grade because her best friend Annie has become good friends with the very "girly" Veronica. For Marty this is difficult. She still wants to catch frogs during recess and get muddy but Annie is busy dancing and dressing up like princesses. One day her third grade teacher tells Marty that she will casted as the Princess in the "The Frog and the Princess" play. After much hesitation she is forced into the role. From this experience Marty learns that she is brave, strong, and energetic; just what the role needed for the princess. At the end of the book Annie calls Marty to spend time with her and Veronica comes too. This time though they come up with a compromise for all the girls to be happy; playing outside and dressing up.
  • (4/5)
    Marty Mcguire is a cute early chapter book and will be fitting for intermediate readers. In this realistic fiction, Marty Mcguire overcomes her view of a stereotypical princess. In order to be the princess in the Princess and the Frog, she must throw in her personal twist to the play.