Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Mademoiselle Chanel

Mademoiselle Chanel

Written by C. W. Gortner

Narrated by Rebecca Gibel


Mademoiselle Chanel

Written by C. W. Gortner

Narrated by Rebecca Gibel

ratings:
3.5/5 (83 ratings)
Length:
14 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Mar 17, 2015
ISBN:
9780062373786
Format:
Audiobook

Description

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel-the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco-a seamstress and sometime torch singer-the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

Publisher:
Released:
Mar 17, 2015
ISBN:
9780062373786
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

C. W. Gortner is the author of many bestselling historical novels—including Mademoiselle Chanel—which have been published in more than twenty countries. He lives in San Francisco.



Reviews

What people think about Mademoiselle Chanel

3.5
83 ratings / 12 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    Gabrielle Chanel was the daughter of a laundress and of a man who deserted his young children when his wife died. The remainder of Chanel's childhood was spent in an orphanage where the nuns recognized her usual talent with a needle. It was her first lover that took her to Paris where her skill, ambition, and independence lead her to becoming Coco, an internationally known couture who still influences design almost fifty years after her death.G. W. Gortner knows the fashion industry, having worked in all levels of it before becoming a fulltime writer. The Chanel story he tells (1895 - 1954) is well researched and reveals a complex and independent woman who was not always likeable. In some ways it is a cautionary tale because while Coco achieved a dizzying level of success, she also suffered from questionable decisions, sadness and loss. This is the second book I've read by Gortner, he has written six others, and I'm surprised he's not better known. He writes very well in a woman's voice and I look forward to reading more by him.
  • (5/5)
    This book is the dramatized biography of Coco Chanel. Told in first person by the biographer, Gabrielle, (Coco, a nickname), Chanel led a life full of drama, passion and intrigue. She was one of 6 children, born into extreme poverty. Her family was described as gypsies with her beloved father frequently leaving on long road trips which caused her mother to fend for the herself and 6 children by herself. After her mother died of disease, her father, who missed the funeral, sent the girls off to the convent and boys given to farmers as workers. Gabrielle, Antoinette, and Julia
  • (5/5)
    Excellent book! Very well written. A rags to riches story of a very determined woman.
  • (5/5)
    The narrator did an excellent job at capturing the tone of Chanel’s life story. I would definitely recommend to anyone interested in knowing more about Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel.
  • (4/5)
    A good book about an extraordinary lady. Coco Chanel had a true rags-to-riches tale, with plenty of scandal, love, glamour, and a bit of intrigue along the way. While I do wish the author had delved a bit deeper into her personality and motivations, the picture of Coco that emerges in this novel is nevertheless deeply fascinating and I would love to know more about her.
  • (5/5)
    Absolutely loved this book!! It is a book you can't wait to settle down with and wish it didn't have to end. You will want to race out and buy a bottle of No. 5.

    She literally came alive for me in this novel. I didn't know much about Coco, but love her timeless designs. What a breath of fresh air she would have been in the rigid, torturous, corseted, almost comic, fashions of the early 20th century. The longevity of her classic ideas shows even now, years after her death, she knew what women wanted and in what they looked alluring rather than trussed.

    Coco Chanel was an intriguing, complex woman. C.W. Gortner has a talent for telling stories and this book is a delight. I recommend it to all those who love fashion, complex women and Coco Chanel.