Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
UnavailableThe Invitation
Unavailable in your country

The Invitation

Written by Lucy Foley

Narrated by Emma Gregory


Unavailable in your country

The Invitation

Written by Lucy Foley

Narrated by Emma Gregory

ratings:
4/5 (14 ratings)
Length:
11 hours
Released:
Jul 14, 2016
ISBN:
9780008163006
Format:
Audiobook

Description

‘The perfect summer read… Gorgeously compelling’ Good Housekeeping‘Film crew, Italian Riviera, 1950s. What part of that does not appeal?’ RedRome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the post-war darkness, she’s a point of light. They’re from different worlds, but both trying and failing to carve out a new life.Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal’s world. They join the Contessa’s collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for Cannes film festival.The scene on board is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella’s secrets run the deepest. Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who’s been confined to history.The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain, and to a golden - if rather haunted - time. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.
Released:
Jul 14, 2016
ISBN:
9780008163006
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Lucy Foley studied English literature at Durham University and University College London and worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry. She is the author of The Book of Lost and Found and The Invitation. She lives in London.


Related to The Invitation

Related Audiobooks
Related Articles

Reviews

What people think about The Invitation

3.9
14 ratings / 6 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    This story is set in Italy several years after WWII. Hal is an expat who is living overseas, struggling to even begin writing a novel and haunted by an incident in the war. He meets Stella and has one night of romance with her. Later, he meets Stella again and discovers she is married. What follows is the story of a repressed love affair full of secrets and also of sad circumstances of the past.I love the writing, the story seemed a bit aloof at times, but was definitely a page turner. It was set in a beautiful location and the intrigue was addicting. I received a complementary e-book from the publisher.
  • (5/5)
    What a beautiful, immersive experience. Transporting us to the mediterranean amongst these characters. Love a Lucy Foley book.
  • (4/5)
    Three story lines are interwoven in The Invitation, by Lucy Foley.On the Italian Riviera in the 1950s, Hal Jacobs is an English journalist, struggling with scars from war and a broken engagement back home.Quite by chance, he receives an invitation from a wealthy Contessa he had met previously, to join the famous, talented people she had selected to cruise from Italy to Cannes,publicizing her film, THE SEA CAPTAIN.Why would a drifter, just barely making a living, be invited aboard?Our second plot is the " backstory" of Stella, a beautiful New York matron who had a brief encounter with Hal, two years prior.Her childhood setting is the late 1930s Spain.Stella is currently aboard the Contessa's cruise.At first, the narrative's tapestry seems improbable.But the aura of mystery deepens with Hal's discovery of a 16th century sea captain's journal, detailing his obsession with a "ghostly" woman he rescues from the sea.Once I became comfortable with the plot transitioning and began making connections, I enjoyed the read.I saw it captioned somewhere as a "tragedy laced romance".(Sorry, I don't recall where.)But, that says it best for me.3.5 ★I received this uncorrected advance copy from Goodreads.
  • (1/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I would love to go to Italy. I thought this book might take me there, but it only put me to sleep. The story was soooooo slooooooow. I can't even tell you what it was about. I'd read a sentence several times - my mind was wandering. It didn't keep my interest at all. DNF @ 34%.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (3/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    This is Lucy Foley's second book, following on from The Book of Lost and Found, which I loved. Hal Jacobs is a small-time journalist who is offered a unique job by an Italian Contessa: to accompany her and her guests on a yacht headed to Cannes to promote a film that she has been involved with. Stella is a woman on board who Hal has come across before and who he finds quite beguiling and before long he becomes involved with her.I'm not sure why but this book just didn't completely engage me and I didn't feel a huge amount for the characters, despite some quite sad stories in their past. The setting is beautiful and the whole book has a very glamorous feel to it - 1950s, Italy, film stars, Cannes etc. The writing is elegant and understated and I think The Invitation will be a success for Lucy Foley. However, I did find myself quite pleased to come to the end of it, I'm afraid.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (5/5)
    ...It doesn’t interest me if the story you are telling me is true. I want to know if you can disappoint another to be true to yourself. If you can bear the accusation of betrayal and not betray your own soul. If you can be faithless and therefore trustworthy...