Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe


Hello, Universe

ratings:
4/5 (84 ratings)
Length:
5 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Mar 14, 2017
ISBN:
9780062661654
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Editor's Note

Newbery Medal winner…

The story spans just a single day, but this 2018 Newbery Medal winner encapsulates universal truths about bullying and self-acceptance through its four diverse protagonists.

Description

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view-two boys and two girls-the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it's perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Thanhha Lai, and Rita Williams-Garcia.

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Publisher:
Released:
Mar 14, 2017
ISBN:
9780062661654
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

About the author

New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. She is a professor of children’s literature in the graduate fiction and publishing programs at Rosemont College, where she earned her MFA, and is on the faculty at Hamline University. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; You Go First, a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick; Lalani of the Distant Sea, an Indie Next Pick; and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey, which she also illustrated. The author’s mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines, and she now lives in Cebu.



Reviews

What people think about Hello, Universe

4.2
84 ratings / 24 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (3/5)
    I really liked this book until the end. It ended very abruptly, I thought.
  • (3/5)
    Fun characters that I enjoyed except for the bully- he seemed a little too one-sided. The story had the flavor of magic realism.
  • (4/5)
    Cute, yet not quite realistic story, about fate, friendship, and finding your voice.
  • (5/5)
    Loved this book. Perfect for grades 3 to 8 (and for adults, too). The voices ring true—from shyness and insecurity to being outspoken and confident. How do we treat others and why? Do our families understand us as kids? Is there a greater force at work that pulls some people into the same groups? It was not didactic, but it taught me more about empathy and the complicated nature of individuals.A tiny misstep: Kaori lights incense near the beginning of the book. During a critical point near the end, she sends her little sister to "get Mom's secret matches." Not needed if she was already lighting incense. And I did feel uneasy about what they did with those matches, so I'll bring that up with my student readers when they finish it.I'm adding this 2018 Newbery winner to our school library.
  • (4/5)
    This Newbery Medal-winning middle-grade novel is narrated in the perspectives of four kids in the summer after sixth grade -- a shy boy; a solitary deaf girl; a girl exploring her mystic/psychic interests (with a hilarious younger sister-assistant); and a bullying boy.It’s an exploration of diversity (ethnic, physical, personality) and connection (“there are no coincidences”) more so than having a strong plotline, but the short chapters in alternating narratives keep the story moving.
  • (4/5)
    An adorable story about a young boy, " a weakling" as he thinks of himself, a deaf girl needing to find new friends, and sisters who are as different as night and day. All four come together as unlikely events unfold, "there are no coincidences" the sisters keep saying. You will love this tale of friendship, standing up for oneself, and a sweet grandma, who teaches through stories.