Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Written by Samin Nosrat

Narrated by Samin Nosrat


Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Written by Samin Nosrat

Narrated by Samin Nosrat

ratings:
4.5/5 (133 ratings)
Length:
5 hours
Released:
Aug 22, 2017
ISBN:
9781508249207
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Editor's Note

Warm adventure…

For anyone who’s fallen for Samin Nosrat’s charming Netflix series “Salt Fat Acid Heat,” know that the source material is just as — if not more! — charming. Written with Nosrat’s signature warmth and approachability, it makes cooking less of a color-by-numbers and more of a flavor adventure.

Description

Samin Nosrat reads "The Four Elements of Good Cooking," Part One of her New York Times bestseller Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.
Released:
Aug 22, 2017
ISBN:
9781508249207
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

About the author

Samin Nosrat is a writer, teacher, and chef. Called “a go-to resource for matching the correct techniques with the best ingredients” by The New York Times, and “the next Julia Child” by NPR’s All Things Considered, she’s been cooking professionally since 2000, when she first stumbled into the kitchen at Chez Panisse restaurant. She lives, cooks, surfs, and gardens in Berkeley, California. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is her first book.


Related to Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Related Audiobooks

Related Articles


Reviews

What people think about Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

4.7
133 ratings / 14 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (5/5)
    The most amazing cookbook ever. I learned I have been using the wrong salt my whole and life and just that one little thing has made my food more flavorful already. Can't wait to apply the rest!
  • (5/5)
    Even though recipes of course aren’t available on the audiobook, it’s really fun listening to Samin read this. I checked the audiobook out of the library, but I will likely buy the physical book because I definitely want to refer back to it many times. She’s made cooking sound so amazingly fun, and I actually want to dig into my cookbooks again and make some stuff. Highly recommend this; also as a side note I don’t have Netflix so haven’t seen her show but am sure it’s fun just from listening to Samin here.
  • (5/5)
    Amazing cook book, with a very different perspective. It has shown me a whole new way of looking at foods and menus. Will be using it all the time.
  • (4/5)
    I enjoyed this one, but wished I'd read a hard copy instead of the audio version. I love that she shares her own mistakes as a young chef and works practical advice for improving your cooking in your own home. She also incorporates spice and cooking tips from cultures around the world. I wanted to take notes on some of her cooking tips. If you enjoy this, I'd highly recommend the author's Netflix series of the same name.
  • (5/5)
    Simple and straightforward. I love to cook, and this book is a great help. Love it.
  • (5/5)
    well written & understandable. good things to think about when cooking.
  • (4/5)
    Just know you're only getting part one of the book. Perhaps obviously, the recipes are in the book. But it's an engaging "read" nonetheless and I'm looking forward to playing with the concepts through the recipes
  • (5/5)
    So glad I chose this book! Made me understand cooking better. Highly recommended!
  • (5/5)
    Wonderful narration and incredibly helpful tips for every cook - from the most experienced to the most novice
  • (5/5)
    A must have on culinary common sense and basic cooking chemistry. Do get the print edition as well for lovely recipes—and its prettiness. ^_^

    Nosrat for president! <3
  • (5/5)
    Thank you Samin for keeping me company and bringing me joy on my daily commute through your book and your podcast !
  • (5/5)
    so much pleasure to understand better this stuff about cooking.
    Looks and feels a lot less alien to me and gives more courage facing the arena of cooking ;)
  • (5/5)
    As a chef I luv this book and I plan on buying the print copy for my library
  • (3/5)
    I enjoyed this listen. It was a comforting night time listen. I felt like I was being given advice from my aunt at the kitchen island on a sunday afternoon. I found myself paying attention to each element the next time after reading. My cooking has already gotten more confident in tasting and experimenting.

    I do think i would have enjoyed the physical book more as there were times when the visuals would of been helpful or to be able to get a better sense of it. Overall I enjoyed the show inspired by this a bit more as I felt more connected with the author.