Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Only $9.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End


They Both Die at the End

ratings:
4.5/5 (1,723 ratings)
Length:
8 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Sep 5, 2017
ISBN:
9780062740694
Format:
Audiobook

Description

New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. 4 starred reviews!

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound."

Publisher:
Released:
Sep 5, 2017
ISBN:
9780062740694
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Adam Silvera is the No.1 international bestselling author of They Both Die at the End and many more novels. He was born and raised in New York City and now writes full-time in Los Angeles.


Related to They Both Die at the End

Related Audiobooks


Reviews

What people think about They Both Die at the End

4.4
1723 ratings / 117 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Critic reviews

  • No, really, they both die at the end. In this moving story, two teens are told by a company named Death-Cast that they're going to die within the next day. Seeking some last-minute solace, these strangers meet on an app called Last Friend, determined to make the most of their final moments. HBO is turning it into a miniseries.

    Scribd Editors

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    Loved the premise. Emotional read.
  • (5/5)
    4.5 stars. I cannot describe my love for this. ?Read and weep.
  • (4/5)
    Heartbreaking, profound, thought provoking beautiful read. Really enjoyed this
  • (4/5)
    Heart breaking but utterly worth the read. I am broken.
  • (4/5)
    aaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaa aaaaaaa que livro tristes, porém top show bala
  • (5/5)
    Love it...so different from what I have read before. I would recommend.
  • (5/5)
    This book was heartbreaking yet uplifting, and despite the ending very much delivering on the title, I didn't leave it feeling sad.

    I listened to this on audio, and the narration was wonderful. Both of the boy's voice actors did a brilliant job of bringing this story and its emotions to life. There was a certain section that I connected with so much that I bookmarked it and played it at least ten times in a row after I finished the book. I think it says a lot about the writing and story that the words could leave such an impact on me. This is a beautiful tragedy, but it's also hopeful. It's a message about living every day as if it's your last, because one day it will be and - unlike Rufus and Mateo - you won't get a phone call to tell you about it.

    I really liked how there were little snippets of life from the other characters around Mateo and Rufus, who they encounter throughout their day. It really added to the rich tapestry of fate surrounding these two boys who die too soon.

    And those two boys were both loveable and distinctive characters. We only see them during this one day, yet get to know who they are as people. Despite the short time period this story is set over, both boys have a satisfying character arc - particularly Mateo, who develops so much across the course of the day.

    There is romance in this, which was an incredibly bittersweet thing. While I loved seeing this budding relationship forged over one powerful day, you're plagued with the knowledge that neither of them will survive to see it become anything more. That doesn't make it any less worthwhile, however.

    This book is powerful, and tragic, and will put you through a whole range of emotions as you read it. It'll also likely make you think about the way you live, as you watch two boys try to decide how to spend their last day on earth. I'd definitely recommend it if you're prepared to get invested in a book where, of course, they both die at the end.
  • (4/5)
    I literally this book ... so much . It completely wrecked me . My only complaint ( spoiler )
    Is that the romance seemed so instantaneous. There was no build up , it just happened . I loved it all the same
  • (5/5)
    Really like the narrator. The way the story twists when Mateo and Rufus fall in love and how Mateo dies. I love it one of the best stories I’ve read this year
  • (4/5)
    This story is just so beautiful and the interaction between the characters is incredibly meaningful. The whole concept of Death-Cast and living life to the fullest gave me a lot to think about. I will admit that the writing style wasn't my favorite, but the story itself more than made up for it. It took me a minute to get into it, but I was fully invested once I got over my writing hang-ups.
  • (5/5)
    This was a really great book. Definitely sobbed all through the end.
  • (5/5)
    Made me cry! I didn't think I would like it but I loved it!
  • (5/5)
    This book will make you cry… and trust me, that’s a good thing. Well- written and well-narrated. I really loved the creative take on death, grief and everything in between . Highly recommend.
  • (5/5)
    Amazing book! Definitely different than what I have ever read before. I will be checking out more from Adam Silvera!
  • (5/5)
    THANK YOU! I had this book a long time in my bookshelf but always had something else to do (the struggle...) But because the 30 day trail was free I obviously strated a trail. The adiobook helped me with my slow reading problem and much more. About the book self it is incredible, I cried, laughed and wonder how i would spent my last day before I die! To anyone who is interested in this book... GO READ IT NOW!!!
  • (5/5)
    Made me cry. the title was a give away but it's still tragically sad
  • (5/5)
    damn, they both really die at the end. oh wow.
  • (2/5)
    just not enough
    it didn’t live up to my standards honestly
  • (5/5)
    I love the side story of people around them and how we are all just interconnected with each other. I’m emotional when i already know it’s coming. I guess i’m reflecting on my own mortality and what i would do if i have less than 24 hours to live. Live everyday like it’s your last, peeps!
  • (5/5)
    Really liked the characters and story line. Quick read but thought it was really well done.
  • (5/5)
    This book was immensely captivating. I wished for it to be longer.
  • (4/5)
    I am glad that this was my first audiobook, the voice performances by the actors were amazing and convincing, as if I was watching a movie in my head. "Bittersweet" would best describe how I felt about the story, it definitely makes me ponder about my own life, am I living the life that I want or idly living by?
  • (4/5)
    Good book, not what was expected. And that’s what made it good for me.
  • (4/5)
    Erm, I’m lost for words. An emotional rollercoaster. I actually thought there was going to be some sort of turnaround. How wrong I was!
  • (3/5)
    Decent book; I definitely don’t think I would have finished reading it if it wasn’t an audiobook. Kinda boring, but very deep and touching. It lived up to it’s expectations and is just like the reviews say. They really do… both die at the end.
  • (4/5)
    4 stars cause of the ending didn’t know what happened to Rufus, and also didn’t know what happened to Delilah but other than that it was great
  • (5/5)
    Wow, what do I say about this book? I didn't think I was going to like it and instead it broke my heart and I love it. I stood on the canal in tears, wanting to change the ending...even though it tells you from the title that they both die at the end!!!

    Of course people who have been given the death call meet via an app, hello 21st century. I love how Mateo and Rufus meet and think the other is super weird.

    The adventures they have in just 24 hours is just amazing. I love how they learn to be honest with each other, themselves and their friends.

    They find love in the last 24 hours and oh Jesus, I wept like a baby.
  • (3/5)
    It definitely pulled at my heart strings but didn’t live up to the hipe
  • (2/5)
    I didn't enjoy this story much but thought it would be a good book for a class to read and discuss it afterwards.
  • (5/5)
    so powerful and emotional, everything here work so damn well.