Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 daysStart your free 30 days
All Systems Red

Book Actions

Start Listening

Book Information

All Systems Red

Written by Martha Wells

Narrated by Kevin R. Free

Ratings:
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars4.5/5 (1,101 ratings)
Length: 3 hours

Editor's Note

Award winning…
If you like “Westworld” and “Ex Machina,” check out this 2018 Hugo Award winner for Best Novella. A security robot (with a great sense of humor) hacks its own programming to become self-aware and just wants to be left alone. And then everything goes wrong.

Description

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels.

All Systems Red tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety.

But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern.

On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot."

Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.

Read More