Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

All Systems Red

All Systems Red

Written by Martha Wells

Narrated by Kevin R. Free


All Systems Red

Written by Martha Wells

Narrated by Kevin R. Free

ratings:
4/5 (3,891 ratings)
Length:
3 hours
Released:
Oct 20, 2017
ISBN:
9781501977824
Format:
Audiobook

Editor's Note

Award winning…

If you like “Westworld” and “Ex Machina,” check out this 2018 Hugo Award winner for Best Novella. A security robot (with a great sense of humor) hacks its own programming to become self-aware and just wants to be left alone. And then everything goes wrong.

Description

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels.

All Systems Red tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety.

But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern.

On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot."

Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.

Released:
Oct 20, 2017
ISBN:
9781501977824
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Martha Wells is the author of five previous novels: The Wizard Hunters, the first book of the Fall of Ile-Rien, The Element of Fire, City of Bones, Wheel of the Infinite, and The Death of the Necromancer, which was nominated for the Nebula Award. She lives in College Station, Texas, with her husband.



Reviews

What people think about All Systems Red

4.2
3891 ratings / 195 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    I gave this book a 3 and a half stars out of five! It was a lot of fun and Murderbot is strangely relatable. I am looking forward to reading book 2.
  • (5/5)
    A self-aware AI whose function is a security bot protects its clients on a research mission. Bored, putting in minimal effort so it can view entertainment feeds while appearing to work, it’s subversive strategy is successful until an unanticipated planetary hazard disrupts everything.
  • (4/5)
    Rather interesting story about space exploration and artificial life being?
  • (5/5)
    The cutest most adorable bot ugh cute and amazing ?
  • (5/5)
    Short, and very enjoyable. Has a very thought provoking tale for a robot that just wants to be left alone.
  • (4/5)
    Great writing and reader but the audio recording is too quiet.