Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
A Secondhand Life

A Secondhand Life

Written by Pamela Crane

Narrated by Melanie Carey


A Secondhand Life

Written by Pamela Crane

Narrated by Melanie Carey

ratings:
3.5/5 (20 ratings)
Length:
8 hours
Released:
Jun 7, 2017
ISBN:
9781940662183
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Description

From USA TODAY bestselling author Pamela Crane comes a dark thriller about the monsters that hide in plain sight.


"Fans of Karin Slaughter, BA Paris, and Lisa Gardner will relish the knife-sharp prose, empowering characters, and mind-blowing twist ending of A Secondhand Life. Crane's writing is chilling in that can't-get-enough way." - Goodreads reader review


A string of murdered girls. An innocent man behind bars. A serial killer still on the hunt.


In a freak collision when she was twelve, Mia Germaine faced death along with the loss of her father. A heart transplant from a young murder victim saved Mia's life, but not without a price. Twenty years later, the scar on her chest still bothers her, while haunting nightmares about an unresolved homicide begin to plague her. Compelled by these lost memories, she forms a complicated connection to the victim—a girl killed the same night as Mia’s car accident—due to a scientific phenomenon called “organ memory.”

 

Now suffocating beneath the weight of avenging a dead girl and catching a serial killer on the loose dubbed the "Triangle Terror," Mia must dodge her own demons while unimaginable truths torment her—along with a killer set on making her his next victim.


As Mia tries to determine if her dreams are clues or disturbing phantasms, she's led further into danger's path, costing her the one person who can save her from herself.

Released:
Jun 7, 2017
ISBN:
9781940662183
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

About the author

PAMELA CRANE is a professional juggler. Not one who can toss flaming torches in the air (though how cool would that be?), but a juggler of four kids, a writing addiction, a horse rescuer, and a book editor by trade. Her USA Today best-selling books unravel flawed women—some she knows, some she creates—and you can find them at www.pamelacrane.com, and pick up a free book while you’re visiting!


Related to A Secondhand Life

Titles In This Series (1)

Related Audiobooks


Reviews

What people think about A Secondhand Life

3.4
20 ratings / 4 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (2/5)
    Interesting but I got tired of the serial killer's perspective and the annoying voice that the narrator read it in.
  • (1/5)
    The writing is gawd-awful and the plot is predictable. The narrator sounds like a 14 year-old girl wearing a retainer. The idea is cool, but was poorly executed.
  • (3/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I loved the idea of this story. It is very interesting and a great concept. Overall a good read.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Organ memory.This was a fantastic premise for a murder mystery, especially as I came across mention of the phenomenon in the news at the time that I was reading the book. It appears that donated organs can have some residual memory from their previous owner; in this case, a faint memory of the murder that finished the life of Alexis and allowed her heart to be donated to Mia Germaine.It's actually 20 years after her transplant that Mia starts to have flashbacks to the murder scene and she senses that this is not just a coincidence, but something that she feels compelled to follow up. Her investigation leads her to meet the victim's family and she teams up with Alexis's brother to investigate the murder, following Mia's clues.I was listening to a well read audio version, narrated by Melanie Carey. The only problem I did have, was that, being a female narrator, it was a while before I twigged that the murderer was a man. Mostly it is Mia who tells the story but from time to time we do get the voice of the murderer.An enjoyable read but, for me, there were just a few too may coincidences. I can't say more though, without spoilers. Even so, I definitely want to read the prequel novella, A Second Hand Lie.

    1 person found this helpful