Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Nightbooks

Nightbooks

Written by J. A. White

Narrated by Kirby Heyborne


Nightbooks

Written by J. A. White

Narrated by Kirby Heyborne

ratings:
4.5/5 (69 ratings)
Length:
7 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Jul 24, 2018
ISBN:
9780062841988
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Description

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all listeners of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

Publisher:
Released:
Jul 24, 2018
ISBN:
9780062841988
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook


About the author

J. A. White is the author of the Thickety series and Nightbooks. He lives in New Jersey with his wife, three sons, and the ghost of their hamster, Ophelia. When he’s not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories. He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work. You can visit him online at www.jawhitebooks.com.

Related to Nightbooks

Related Audiobooks

Reviews

What people think about Nightbooks

4.3
69 ratings / 7 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (5/5)
    Wow I loved this i read it to my grandson over the weekend we enjoyed it.i couldn't get over how much a 9 year old would enjoy this. I loved reading it to him. It's well written and has a great plot to.. It's one I'm keeping to read to the grandkids
  • (5/5)
    An amazing story! I loved every second of it! I am a middle age women and I think this book is great for any age! I really enjoyed it. The narrator did a wonderful job!
  • (5/5)
    It was a well written and bone chilling story filled with stories to tell your children for years to come.⭐️
  • (5/5)
    good narrating, I gave the book 3⭐ but the audio was good ♥️
  • (4/5)
    Alex is being kept prisoner by a witch in an apartment full of books. AT first glance, I thought that wouldn't be too bad. Unfortunately, it is more of a Hansel and Gretel scenario and each night he is required to tell her a story in order to stay alive. If you like Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm this will be right up your alley.

    I would place this in a 12 and up category because of its scary factors. It isn't all scare- Nightbooks is a book about friendship and staying true to yourself, even when it isn't easy. Bonus points from me for having an adorable cat in it.

    It's a dark tale with plenty of humor built in, I sped through it in an afternoon and loved it all.
  • (4/5)
    Alex is lured into a 4th floor apartment when he thinks her hears his favorite movie, Night of the living Dead, playing. He finds that he has been trapped by a witch like many children before him. Inside, the apartment, is sprawling and magical. He finds his Nightbooks, scary stories he has written, come in handy as the witch needs scary stories read every night. Yasmin is also trapped there. The two work together and hatch a plan to escape.
  • (5/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I can relate to this as a writer and a dreamer with a very active imagination. This was awesome and well written. I love this book now but younger me would have died with excitement over this story! I especially love the stories within stories and the positive upbeat and happy messages here. If you haven’t read it, you really should!

    1 person found this helpful