Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Unteachables

The Unteachables

Written by Gordon Korman

Narrated by Sarah Beth Goer, Oliver Wyman, Chris Gebauer and


The Unteachables

Written by Gordon Korman

Narrated by Sarah Beth Goer, Oliver Wyman, Chris Gebauer and

ratings:
4.5/5 (173 ratings)
Length:
6 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Jan 8, 2019
ISBN:
9780062885289
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

Description

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordan Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby's Last Day.

The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can't read; Kiana, who doesn't even belong in the class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.

Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that idea—and it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.

The Unteachables never thought they'd find a teacher who had a worse attitude than they did. And Mr. Kermit never thought he would actually care about teaching again. Over the course of a school year, though, room 117 will experience mayhem, destruction—and maybe even a shot at redemption.

Publisher:
Released:
Jan 8, 2019
ISBN:
9780062885289
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as ebookEbook

About the author

Gordon Korman published his first book at age fourteen and since then has written more than ninety middle grade and teen novels. Favorites include the New York Times bestselling Ungifted, Supergifted, The Unteachables, Pop, Schooled, and the Masterminds series. Gordon lives with his family on Long Island, New York. You can visit him online at www.gordonkorman.com.



Reviews

What people think about The Unteachables

4.5
173 ratings / 14 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (5/5)
    I love it so much it is sooooooooooooo good and relly cool
  • (5/5)
    At 68, I'm a bit older than most of Gordon Korman's readers, but I do like his attitude, and I wish we had had more books like this when I was a kid. Korman gets real, unlike so many of the rather treacly stories I read, wherein it was argued that everyone is basically good and kind (sometimes very deep down), if you don't like someone, or a situation, it's because you don't know enough about them. Every disagreement is the protagonist's fault for not being sufficiently patient and understanding. Even a very docile child figures out that that can't be right. I always wanted to rage, "If you'd tell me things, I'd have known!"This book , like his others, is funny, and makes some pretty good points, about learning, and change, and over-looked potential. It is very funny in addition. The resolution is a coming is warm coming together of most of the characters, but it requires some learning and growing, in some very eccentric ways.
  • (4/5)
    Mr. Kermit is one year away from early retirement when he gets assigned to teach the Unteachables class. He knows this is the superintendent's way to drive him to quitting before retirement. Mr. Kermit doesn't intend to let anything get in the way of collecting his pension so he plans to breeze his way through the school year. However, the best laid plans always go awry.
  • (5/5)
    Fabulous, feel good story with a variety of endearing misfit characters, including the teachers. Quick moving plot, lots of hijinks, great heart -- lots of things happen that stretch the credulity, but who cares, it's a great book. Also funny. Also all about fair play and a sense of justice.
  • (5/5)
    This was one of the best books I have ever listened to I recommend
  • (5/5)
    I really enjoyed this book! It plucked some heartstrings when there were moments I could relate to the students and to Mr. Kermit. Great to listen to during morning commute and when I would take long walks.