Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Watching You: A Novel

Watching You: A Novel

Written by Lisa Jewell

Narrated by Gabrielle Glaister


Watching You: A Novel

Written by Lisa Jewell

Narrated by Gabrielle Glaister

ratings:
4/5 (543 ratings)
Length:
10 hours
Released:
Dec 26, 2018
ISBN:
9781508266884
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Description

New York Times and number-one Sunday Times best-selling author and “brilliant storyteller” (Shelf Awareness, starred review) Lisa Jewell weaves another suspenseful thriller about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England. It’s the sort of place where doctors and lawyers and old-money academics live. It’s not the sort of place where people get stabbed in the back 30 times with a kitchen knife in their own homes.

Someone must have seen something.

Newlywed Joey Mullen, for example, recently returned from four years of working in Ibiza. She and her husband, Alfie, are eager to find a place of their own in her hometown. But Joey finds herself distracted by the man next door, Tom Fitzwilliam. He’s the principal of the local high school, twice her age, and devastatingly attractive. What starts as an innocent infatuation soon escalates into fixation, and before long, Joey can’t keep her eyes off of Tom.

Or the principal’s son, Freddie, who dreams of working as a spy and has been developing his surveillance skills by keeping meticulous logs of the coming and goings in the area. And, as he approaches his 15th birthday, his attention — and his lens — are turning more and more toward the local women.

Or perhaps single mother Frances Tripp, who has long been convinced she is being stalked. Her teenage daughter, Jenna, is worried these delusions are signs of her mother’s deteriorating mental health, particularly now that her paranoia has found a specific target: Tom Fitzwilliam. Frances is determined to keep an eye on him until she can prove he is behind her persecution.

Twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam.

Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community’s fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains:

Who else is watching?

Released:
Dec 26, 2018
ISBN:
9781508266884
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook


About the author

Lisa Jewell is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of nineteen novels, including The Family Upstairs and Then She Was Gone, as well as Invisible Girl and Watching You. Her novels have sold over 5 million copies internationally, and her work has also been translated into twenty-eight languages. Connect with her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK, on Instagram @LisaJewellUK, and on Facebook @LisaJewellOfficial.



Reviews

What people think about Watching You

4.2
543 ratings / 24 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (5/5)
    This book left me engaged, and I didn’t want to stop listening. I also liked the British feel, with words that are not used in American English. Plenty of clues that left me wondering about the killer, until the last few chapters. Then the epilogue was a satisfying closure.
  • (5/5)
    I have quickly become a huge fan of Lisa Jewell! She is well and truly a great writer and weaver of suspenseful novels!
  • (5/5)
    Fantastic. From the first I was intrigued by this twist on a whodunnit of not knowing whom was killed as well as who the killer was. This book though is much much more, with a tight plot and amazing character portraiture I was interested all through, not just waiting to see how it would end.
  • (5/5)
    So good! It was well written and kept me interested.
  • (5/5)
    I loved it so much. I love you Lisa Jewell
  • (4/5)
    Great writing! Although I had things mostly figured out, I looked forward to getting to it each day and it kept me invested. Feels like a good soap opera! Not in a Cheesy way though. It gives complete closure and has a nice little twist left at the end.