Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
The Stranger in Our Home

The Stranger in Our Home

Written by Sophie Draper

Narrated by Emma Pallant


The Stranger in Our Home

Written by Sophie Draper

Narrated by Emma Pallant

ratings:
3.5/5 (5 ratings)
Length:
11 hours
Released:
Nov 29, 2018
ISBN:
9780008337513
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Description

Have you been bad enough?

When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in the rural English countryside. She hadn’t seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship and a chance to start again.

But going through Elizabeth’s belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her about two little girls and the terrible thing they do.

As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth?

A haunting and twisty story about the lies we tell those closest to us, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green.

Released:
Nov 29, 2018
ISBN:
9780008337513
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

About the author


Related to The Stranger in Our Home

Related Audiobooks


Reviews

What people think about The Stranger in Our Home

3.6
5 ratings / 1 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (2/5)
    I listened to the audio version and the narrator was good, except I don’t know why one character had an American “accent.” It was a silly plot point and the accent was a mashup. The story itself is pretty predictable. Most of the story is told as memories so there isn’t much suspense until the last fourth of the book. Also, the first half is A LOT of the main character describing her feelings instead of actually doing something. It’s metaphor upon metaphor and pretty tedious. The main character is pretty hard to like because she is so weak. The point of view suddenly changes in the final chapters which is disconcerting and a lazy way of tying up the plot. Again, instead of telling the story through actions it’s retold as memories. I finished the book because I always do, but I would not read this author again.