Find your next favorite audiobook

Become a member today and listen free for 30 days
Efren Divided

Efren Divided

Written by Ernesto Cisneros

Narrated by Anthony Rey Perez


Efren Divided

Written by Ernesto Cisneros

Narrated by Anthony Rey Perez

ratings:
4.5/5 (16 ratings)
Length:
4 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Mar 31, 2020
ISBN:
9780062971852
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

Description

Efrén Divided is a not-to-be-missed debut middle grade novel for readers who love Front Desk or Merci Suárez Changes Gears-or for anyone working toward a more loving world-about family, friendship, and tearing down the walls being built between us.

Efrén Nava's Amá is his Superwoman-or Soperwoman, named after the delicious Mexican sopes his mother often prepares. Both Amá and Apá work hard all day to provide for the family, making sure Efrén and his younger siblings Max and Mía feel safe and loved.

But Efrén worries about his parents; although he's American-born, his parents are undocumented. His worst nightmare comes true one day when Amá doesn't return from work and is deported across the border to Tijuana, México.

Now more than ever, Efrén must channel his inner Soperboy to help take care of and try to reunite his family.

Publisher:
Released:
Mar 31, 2020
ISBN:
9780062971852
Format:
Audiobook

Also available as...

Also available as bookBook

About the author

Ernesto Cisneros was born and raised in Santa Ana, California, where he still teaches. Efrén Divided is his first book. He holds an English degree from the University of California, Irvine; a teaching credential from California State University, Long Beach; as well as a master of fine arts in creative writing from National University. As an author, he believes in providing today’s youth with an honest depiction of characters with whom they can identify. The real world is filled with amazing people with diverse backgrounds and perspectives. His work strives to ref lect that. You can visit him online at www.ernestocisneros.com.



Reviews

What people think about Efren Divided

4.6
16 ratings / 1 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    A moving story of a kid caught in the middle of his mom's deportation, trying to help the rest of his family still in the States while feeling like his world is falling apart at home and at school. The narrator did an amazing job bringing Efren and the rest of the characters to life.