Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Free for 30 days, then $9.99/month. Cancel anytime.

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel

Written by Alexis Daria

Narrated by Seraphine Valentine


You Had Me at Hola: A Novel

Written by Alexis Daria

Narrated by Seraphine Valentine

ratings:
4/5 (413 ratings)
Length:
10 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Aug 4, 2020
ISBN:
9780062959959
Format:
Audiobook

Description

"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine--her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self-doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!"--Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas-perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new "Leading Lady Plan" should be easy enough to follow-until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don't need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he'll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton's most closely guarded secret.

 

Publisher:
Released:
Aug 4, 2020
ISBN:
9780062959959
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Alexis Daria writes stories about successful Latinx characters and their (occasionally messy) familias. Her debut Take the Lead won the 2018 RITA® Award for “Best First Book” and her latest release, You Had Me at Hola, is a national bestseller, Target Diverse Book Club Pick, and New York Times Editor’s Choice Pick. Alexis is a lifelong New Yorker who loves Broadway musicals and pizza.


Related to You Had Me at Hola

Related Audiobooks


Reviews

What people think about You Had Me at Hola

4.0
413 ratings / 17 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (2/5)
    Cute classic rom com beginning, the characters are insufferable especially in the 3rd act which ruins the entire book. There are definitely better ways to create tension bc and allow your characters to have big arcs and grow as people.
  • (5/5)
    The book is very great and keeps you at the history in a incredible way. The narrative is amazing and the way she spells and tells the story is super easy to understand.
  • (5/5)
    This is a great novel! Heartfelt story, with relatable characters, and an incredible narration!
  • (3/5)
    First of all, I'm all in for the Latinx representation. Well done! And on that note, I really appreciated the mix of Spanish and English, since our characters are bilingual.
    I thought I'd be a fan of Ashton, seeing him all clumsy and nervous with the coffee scene. But I wasn't that big of a fan. For the most part, it was OK. But towards the end, especially when they argue, not a fan at all. I'm not saying Jasmine was in the right with how she reacted, but he crossed some lines for me, which ruined my enjoyment.
    I must say, I'm not super into the movies/series world, so I thought I couldn't care less about the scenes that were included in the episodes. BUT I actually enjoyed them a lot. For me, they showed the conflict between Jasmine and Ashton when playing their roles together and being inside the scenes.
  • (4/5)
    I enjoyed more than I thought I would after reading some reviews. The only thing that mede me not give this book 5 ⭐was the ridiculous easy way the female character forgives the hero, like in all romance books there's a misunderstanding, it was pretty obvious almost since the beginning what would this misunderstanding would be, and thet she forgives this after thinking about it is undertandable but he dismissed her in such di#×$sh way that at least for me is unrealistic.
  • (5/5)
    Not the typical cheesy love story but a bit steamier than expected. A mix between work, play and culture.
  • (5/5)
    Hi! I know this is a five star listen but I’ve only been able to get through three chapters before the audiobook starts glitching. Stopping and restarting from the beginning... can someone fix it? I’d love to listen to it without any technical issues :) thanks!!
  • (4/5)
    Worderful. Love the representation of latinx comunity. Very good writing
  • (4/5)
    Loved it. It was part steamy celebrity-gossip and part just-a-girl-meeting-a-boy wanting him to love me.
  • (3/5)
    Very average book, the steamy parts don’t make up for the boring, predictable story. It’s well written and very woke but it felt so superficial.
  • (5/5)
    Rating 4.5 stars
    I understand that theremare things in life that everyone believes that they have to do to protect the ones you love or yourself for that matter but if you don't live life and let people in then how is that living?
    I get that both Jasmine and Ashton were trying to get their lives in order but when they became costars in the show Carmen in Charge, everything changed but I think it was for the better. I enjoyed Jasmines' family are so much fun and supportive. I always loved that about my family but due to family moving away and with the younger generation nto wanting to follow old traditions, things change. Reading the parts when Jasmine got together with her family was my favorite parts. Then adding Ashton to the mix was epic since he saw what he he has been missing. Plus his son was such a sweet too.
  • (5/5)
    4.5 stars. I loved this book! I loved the characters, even the ones they played on the show, and the working actor roles instead of just being about famous people. The progressive set was awesome to see and the way they handled consent on set. My only drawback was a little bit of unnecessary drama in regards to “co-stars dating” being such a terrible concept when that happens all the time, or the rumors anyway. But otherwise, a cute, fun read with some steamy romance!
  • (4/5)
    This is such a feel good story. Loved it so much!
  • (5/5)
    SO SO GOOD! Perfect romance with Latinx representation, tons of drama and family dynamics as well
  • (5/5)
    And......BOOM!!!! Relatable family dynamics, sexy, sassy and vulnerable characters repping all walks of life and damn, the romance, *twirls!*
  • (3/5)
    I didn't love it as much as I wanted too but I still enjoyed it.
  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Really enjoyed the romance. The book itself felt like a warm hug from the latinx community and I loved the diversity throughout the story. Although I have to say that the man's hiding thingy was so ridiculous

    1 person found this helpful