Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Firekeeper's Daughter

Firekeeper's Daughter


Firekeeper's Daughter

ratings:
4.5/5 (624 ratings)
Length:
14 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Mar 16, 2021
ISBN:
9781250779519
Format:
Audiobook

Editor's Note

Exquisite YA thriller…

Angeline Boulley spent 10 years crafting this exquisite YA thriller, and all that writing and rewriting more than paid off. Daunis Fontaine is a biracial, unenrolled member of the Ojibwe tribe who’s determined to put an end to a new drug trafficking ring that’s devastating her community. There’s equal parts brutality and beauty to be found in this twisty, unique novel.

Description

"Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook...Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed." -- AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection
An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection
An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection
A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

"The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis...It’s a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc’s sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in." -- Booklist, starred review

"Expert narration from Isabella Star LeBlanc, a Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota, brings authenticity to Daunis’s joy, anger, fear, and grief while providing distinct voices for the supporting cast, including the tribal elders. LeBlanc’s captivating voice draws readers in, expressing every mundane, sweet, heartbreaking, and life-threatening moment." -- School Library Journal, starred review

Publisher:
Released:
Mar 16, 2021
ISBN:
9781250779519
Format:
Audiobook

About the author

Angeline Boulley is an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians in Michigan. She gained attention for her debut Firekeeper's Daughter thanks to We Need Diverse Books. It became a NYT No. 1 bestseller and has now sold in 20 territories worldwide. The book won the YA Goodreads Choice Award; the ALA Printz Award and Morris Award; the Walter Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature; and is Carnegie Medal Nominated. Firekeeper's Daughter is soon to be made into a Netflix series. Angeline lives in Michigan but considers Sugar Island home.



Reviews

What people think about Firekeeper's Daughter

4.6
624 ratings / 37 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    This is the first YA book in a while that I really wanted to keep reading. The author does a superb job of blending so many storylines between characters as well as weaving in so many First Nations themes, stories, history and culture. Her main character’s voice come across very authentically and she manages the challenge of remaining true to her protagonists story all the way through. This book definitely deserves all the accolades it’s getting. Parts of the mix between science and traditional medicine in this book reminded me of Robin Wall Kimmerer’s Braiding Sweetgrass, which, in my opinion, is a giant compliment.
  • (5/5)
    Amazing storytelling! Important coming of age story with real implications for the future of Natives.
  • (5/5)
    This story is one to be listened to and read at the same time. So grateful that I did that! It’s a must to add to your list. Loved it❤️
  • (5/5)
    I was told this book was good but slow. I have no idea if they actually read this book or what their definition of slow is but this book is anything but slow!!! Iwas hooked from start to finish. AMAZING and worth all 5 stars I gave it!
  • (5/5)
    This book is beautiful, necessary, strong, and powerful. Read it.
  • (5/5)
    The indigenous realness. The edge of my seat that I was on the entire time trying to piece it together. Amazing.