Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more, with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Woman Outside My Door
The Woman Outside My Door
The Woman Outside My Door
Audiobook6 hours

The Woman Outside My Door

Written by Rachel Ryan

Narrated by Alana Kerr Collins

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

4/5

()

About this audiobook

“Expect a few chills to run down your spine as you work your way through this sharp debut” (CrimeReads) about a young mother who can’t shake the feeling that her son’s imaginary friend is putting him in very real danger—perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Mary Kubica.

All children have imaginary friends, Georgina tells herself. It’s perfectly normal, and they all grow out of it in the end. But when her seven-year-old son, Cody, tells her about New Granny, the friend he’s met in the park, Georgina is instantly suspicious. Something—call it maternal instinct—tells her he isn’t making it up.

Still, maybe Georgina is losing her mind. It wouldn’t be the first time, after all. And with her own mother’s recent death leaving her feeling bereft and overwhelmed as a busy working mom, it’s no wonder she’s feeling paranoid that Cody has invented a “New Granny” to replace his beloved grandmother. Her husband assures Georgina that it’s just a game, the product of their son’s overactive imagination.

But what if Cody’s imaginary friend isn’t so imaginary after all?

“Packed with jaw-dropping moments, The Woman Outside My Door is a twisty thriller with hidden depths” (Robyn Harding, internationally bestselling author of The Party) that will keep you guessing until the shocking last page.
LanguageEnglish
Release dateJan 5, 2021
ISBN9781797121970
Author

Rachel Ryan

Rachel Ryan was born and raised in Dublin, Ireland. She can usually be found writing in coffee shops, hanging around libraries, or walking the streets of Dublin, making up stories. She is the author of Someone You Trust and The Woman Outside My Door.

Related to The Woman Outside My Door

Related audiobooks

Reviews for The Woman Outside My Door

Rating: 3.923076923076923 out of 5 stars
4/5

91 ratings5 reviews

What did you think?

Tap to rate

Review must be at least 10 words

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I enjoyed the mini twist to this book. I love how well written it was. This book was read well too. I felt all the way engage with this story. I followed along with my physical book on 1.8. Great read.
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    Georgina has a lot on her plate. She's pushing her way through school, working, trying to work on her struggling marriage, taking care of her son, and being there for her father after the recent passing of her mother. when her son suddenly starts to mention his new granny whom he met in the park, part of her brushes it off as his imagination, but something just doesn't quite seem right. Bren, her husband, is insistent that Cody is merely coping with the loss of his grandmother and not to worry too much about it. Georgina just can't let it go, especially when things start to happen that just don't add up. Bren is starting to think she needs to speak to a professional and get some help. Georgina thinks that her husband is trying to pull a fast one on her. Suddenly Cody is sticking by the story that it was all made up causing Georgina to grow even more suspicious. Is someone playing games with her and her family or is Cody really covering up for his imagination running wild?
    I read this book both with a digital copy as well as the audio version. The narrator did a pretty good job staying animated throughout the book. I have to say that I have had this one on my tbr list for quite some time and was so excited to finally get it. Though it wasn't exactly what I was expecting, it was a pretty suspenseful book and a very fast and easy read. I did have moments where I thought I figured it out and then another twist happened. For a debut novel I think Rachel Ryan did a pretty great job in making her mark. I rate this ⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    I enjoyed this story very much; however, that kid Cody Ugh..... This kid just could not listen to his mom and so many times he annoyed the dickens out of me.

    1 person found this helpful

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    Nothing memorable and the ending had no real set up or excitement. Blah

    1 person found this helpful

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    I thought this book was going to rely on all the old thriller tropes, but it surprised me. The twists and turns were unexpected but not outlandish. An enjoyable read.

    1 person found this helpful