Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more, with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Taste: My Life Through Food
Taste: My Life Through Food
Taste: My Life Through Food
Audiobook6 hours

Taste: My Life Through Food

Written by Stanley Tucci

Narrated by Stanley Tucci

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5/5

()

About this audiobook

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Named a Notable Book of 2021 by NPR and The Washington Post

From award-winning actor and food obsessive Stanley Tucci comes an intimate and charming memoir of life in and out of the kitchen.

Stanley Tucci grew up in an Italian American family that spent every night around the kitchen table. He shared the magic of those meals with us in The Tucci Cookbook and The Tucci Table, and now he takes us beyond the savory recipes and into the compelling stories behind them.​

Taste is a reflection on the intersection of food and life, filled with anecdotes about his growing up in Westchester, New York; preparing for and shooting the foodie films Big Night and Julie & Julia; falling in love over dinner; and teaming up with his wife to create meals for a multitude of children. Each morsel of this gastronomic journey through good times and bad, five-star meals and burned dishes, is as heartfelt and delicious as the last.

Written with Stanley’s signature wry humor, Taste is for fans of Bill Buford, Gabrielle Hamilton, and Ruth Reichl—and anyone who knows the power of a home-cooked meal.

Editor's Note

Pull up a chair…

Consider Tucci’s book an invitation to his dinner table. Pull up a chair as the “Big Night” and “Stanley Tucci: Searching for Italy” star shares the stories — and recipes — of the food that has shaped his life, and how meals connect him to the people he loves, from his Italian family to his British wife to his Hollywood co-stars.

LanguageEnglish
Release dateOct 5, 2021
ISBN9781797123479
Author

Stanley Tucci

Italian American actor Stanley Tucci was born in New York in 1960. He has directed five films and appeared over seventy films, including The Devil Wears Prada, Easy A, The Terminal, and Road to Perdition, as well as more than a dozen plays, on and off Broadway. He starred in Julie & Julia, opposite Meryl Streep, and The Lovely Bones, for which he earned his first Academy Award nomination, for Best Supporting Actor. He is the winner of two Golden Globes and two Emmys. Tucci’s foodie TV show, Stanley Tucci: Searching for Italy, recently aired on CBS and is nominated for an Emmy. 

Related to Taste

Related audiobooks

Related articles

Reviews for Taste

Rating: 4.482876712328767 out of 5 stars
4.5/5

584 ratings41 reviews

What did you think?

Tap to rate

Review must be at least 10 words

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    great audiobook but the last few minutes keep cutting out so we don’t get the ending :/
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars
    1/5
    Don’t eat puffins and whales please and write about it as if your audience will not be appalled by your lack of empathy for these animals.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Must read/listen for food nerds. Funny, emotional and so tasty
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    This book is a rambling of thoughts, life's experience through the angle of food. I almost sacked this book with disappointment, but the last chapter gave the book it's meaning and purpose. The audio book made it with Tucci narration made it possible for me to reach the last chapter.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I hated for Taste to end....so entertaining and the food recipes sound delicious. Stanley Tucci was perfection reading his book (obviously I listened to the audio), his quips and antidotes about himself, family and friends were funny and interesting. My favorite parts are the dialogue he describes between his mother and grandmother and himself and his mother and son. Enough said....highly recommend, you don't have to be a foodie to enjoy.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Absolutely loved this book and savoured listening to it in real time (as opposed to my typical 1.5 speed). A food lover's journey through life, complete with delectable recipes, wit and humour. Now please excuse me while I make a new grocery list and update my menu plan...
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Amazing book!! Relatable, mouth watering, funny, inspiring, I highly recommend especially for food lovers and cooks everywhere.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    A huge fan regardless, I am even more so now!
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Delightful, witty and a touching reminder about food as connection to others.
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    Inspiring, entertaining, perceptive, insightful, candid, and playful, with a transcendent passion for food, for family, and for life.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Delicious read! Highly recommend! May even get a hard copy.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Heartwarming and surprisingly funny and honest - food for thought
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Tucci delivers his personal story with warmth and humor. I read the book and loved it so much that, when I found the audiobook read by him, I just had to listen. I would highly recommend both to everyone especially for his family recipes along with special ones he has discovered in his travels. Excellent, excellent, EXCELLENT!
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I did not want this book to end. This well-paced memoir, read impeccably by the author, is an absolute treat for the senses. Tucci's story is a gift for anyone who enjoys food and who relishes cooking for the people they love. I will definitely listen to this again and again.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Enjoyed it thoroughly. Lovely to have an inside view into this man’s life and love of food. Makes you wish you could pull up a chair at his table.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Truly enjoyable! So many of my own memories relived. Laugh out loud funny. I felt like he was in the room telling the story directly to me.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Brilliant. Glorious. Witty. Refreshing. I fully enjoyed this listen. Grateful.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    YUM. The way the author has knit together the dominant strands if his life with food and cooking will inspire home cooks; I am going to buy it in print for the recipes. The surprise, for me, was his wit and warmth: they permeate the book. And I can’t help but feel a frisson of pride when he recommends some Canadian eateries.
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    Captured all the more vividly when read by the author. I will however need a copy now to make sure I have the recipes as they sound divine.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Part memoir, part cookbook, and part love letter to all things food, cooking, and eating. Stanley Tucci narrates his book and unlike most authors that narrate their books, Tucci puts his emotions and feelings into his narration. As a reader I felt as if I was sitting in his kitchen while he told me his parents and maternal grandparents story all while he was preparing his family’s heirloom recipes and describing their exquisite taste.

    This book is a memoir, but the memories are centered around food, family, and traditions. One section Tucci describes the time his family moved to Italy while he was in high school and another he describes the food he ate on different film sets and the dinners he ate while on location. Towards the end, Tucci describes his battle with cancer and the treatments that effected his life.

    If you’ve never read a food memoir, this is the one to try! Each chapter is filled with delicious sounding food, humor, and love (whether it be love of food, family, or cocktails).

    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    My favorite of 2021. Bought it for 10 people for Christmas.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    A rich and delicious account! It was unexpected and satisfying to read.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Uplifting and a life well eaten, I would recommend to anyone who loves food and wants to hear a feel good read that's not sugar coated
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Just a pleasure from start to finish. Though I’d have liked to hear more about George Clooney, Colin Firth, and Ryan Reynolds, but since there’s no such thing as a perfect book, I’ll happily settle for this one.
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    Delightful memoir, depicting not his film career, but his life-long love of food.

    The audio is narrated by the author which brings the whole book to life.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I feel like my life was enriched through this book! The stories, the food, the life through each page! Learned a lot, laughed a lot, enjoyed it a lot!
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Loved this book. I love his voice and he has such an interesting life. It does include a few recipes and lots of food stories(my favorite kind). The audiobook is pure comfort.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I listened to this book, read by its author. I rarely like a book read by its author but after an NPR review I took a chance. It was DELIGHTFUL. I’ve even tried some of the recipes. I mean really, I’m eagerly reviewing a book in which someone read recipes!! It has to be good.

    This is the highest praise I think I can give….it was so enthralling that I even listened to the “thank yous” and “acknowledgements.”

    It was charming and informative. I chuckled and I teared up. Just get it and listen.

    Oh. And I’ve ordered a hard copy to try more recipes.

    1 person found this helpful

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    The author’s complete honesty about all things food related. His opinionated text was enjoyable to hear and gave insight to the world of food on sets.

    1 person found this helpful

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I've read many biographies, mostly of historical figures long gone. This is my first memoir/autobiography. The structure is what drew me to it: part memoir, part culinary history, part cookbook and a whole lot of humor.  The last line of the intro captures the spirit of the book: "The following pages offer a taste of such a memoir. I hope you find them palatable. (More puns to follow.)" Light-hearted and a bit irreverant, with many promised puns, Tucci chronicles the importance of food to his cultural heritage, his relationships and his life. He shares anecdotes from his childhood, recipes and commentary (even in footnotes where he notes that the best bread in Italy is in France.)"Food was the connective tissue that brought them, again and again, into each other's homes, backyards, front porches, campsites, beaches and hearts." His anecdotes reminded me how important food is to many of us. Making sure we make Mommy's sticky buns and Nan's stuffing at Christmas. Or, sharing the family recipe book on cheap printer paper. Food matters. As he says, "Perhaps the most precious heirlooms are family recipes."Not only do you learn of his life, but also a bit oh history along the way. Like Cuban-Chinese cuisine in NYC, that historic bitto cheese is the most expensive cheese in the world, or how catering is done on film sets (he brings two of his own nespresso machines to set!). Tucci closes the book with his battle with oral cancer. The loss of appetite and ability to eat normally for several years gave him a deeper appreciation of how important food is to his life. And it was so heartwarming to learn how Ryan Reynolds, Colin Firth and other famous friends were so supportive. Thankfully, he is cancer free and cooking again.  This book is an easy, fun read about an interesting person and, of course, food."What a fascinating conundrum of a man is that Stanley Tucci." Indeed he is.