Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more, with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Cactus Jack: A Novel
Cactus Jack: A Novel
Cactus Jack: A Novel
Audiobook8 hours

Cactus Jack: A Novel

Written by Brad Smith

Narrated by Lesa Wilson

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5/5

()

About this audiobook

Brad Smith “rivals Elmore Leonard at his best” (Publishers Weekly). His latest novel, for fans of Richard Russo and Jane Smiley, is a terrific novel about a thirty-something single woman, the untried colt she inherits, a horse crazy little girl, and their band of misfits and has-beens who stick it to the establishment in the cutthroat world of horse racing. Billie Masterson is a thirty-something chronic underachiever, drowning herself in alcohol and bad relationships in Ohio. She hasn’t been home to the family’s broken-down thoroughbred farm in Kentucky since college. Her mother committed suicide when Billie was a teen and she blames her father, Will Masterson. When Will drops dead while working on the farm, Billie returns to rural Kentucky for the funeral, intending only to pay her respects before high-tailing it back to Ohio. However, she’s informed by her father’s lawyer, the garrulous David Mountain Clay, that she now owns the farm…and all the debt that goes with it. Determined to sell everything, settle the debts and get out of town, Billie discovers that her father’s colt, a horse named Cactus Jack, is the object of obsession for billionaire Reese Ryker, the louche scion of a department store dynasty and now owner of Double R Racing, one of the top thoroughbred stables in the world. Billie is willing to sell everything to Ryker—until she realizes that he’s an entitled misogynist and a not-so-subtle racist. Against her better judgment, she decides to keep the farm and the untested horse. To do that she needs to race the animal—and beat Ryker at his own game. Assisted by a team of misfits, including a washed-up trainer with whom she has a bit too much history, the horse-crazy little girl next door, and her father’s ex-girlfriend, Billie and Cactus Jack take the track by a storm.
LanguageEnglish
PublisherScribd Audio
Release dateSep 14, 2021
ISBN9781094428765
Author

Brad Smith

Brad Smith was born and raised in southern Ontario. He has worked as a farmer, signalman, insulator, truck driver, bartender, schoolteacher, maintenance mechanic, roofer, and carpenter. He lives in an eighty-year-old farmhouse near the north shore of Lake Erie. Red Means Run, the first novel in his Virgil Cain series, was named among the Year’s Best Crime Novels by Booklist.

More Audiobooks By Brad Smith

Related to Cactus Jack

Related Audiobooks

Related Articles

Related categories

Reviews for Cactus Jack

Rating: 4.4635761589403975 out of 5 stars
4.5/5

151 ratings9 reviews

What did you think?

Tap to rate
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    A well crafted story that reads like a motion picture
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    Great book, I’d read more by this author. I felt it ended a bit abruptly and would have benefitted from an epilogue to tell us how the characters faired
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    If you like horses, you’ll like this novel. Its about the horse born of the greatest horse in the world and the people connected with this horse. They are a mismatched, but interesting group. Fast-paced and plenty of drama will make this a good book to read.
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    I enjoyed the story but hated to heugly inappropriate unnecessary language. Please this s NOT needed to make a goodbppl

    1 person found this helpful

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars
    1/5
    Another incomplete book. Thinking about canceling my subscription if it keeps happening

    1 person found this helpful

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    Throughly enjoyed this novel from beginning till end! Will also say that usually I prefer men readers to woman but this reader changed my mind on that! Will listen to another from the author Mr Smith.
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    This was the best literary surprise I've had in a long while. I was expecting a mediocre two-star story. To my delight, I was laughing out loud at almost every page. The book is saturated with witticisms. I highly recommend it.

    2 people found this helpful

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    SO MUCH FOULlanguage unnecessary! Would be a five star except for that.

    2 people found this helpful

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    Better than I expected. Not very swift moving and it ends like you expect but all in all it is a nice story leaving you with a warm heart.

    2 people found this helpful