A memoir of the London Symphony Orchestra on tour in the U.S. and beyond, focusing on their historical first visit to America in 1912 when they were due to sail on the Titanic, and their most recent travels

Gareth Davies, principal flautist at the London Symphont Orchestra (LSO), tells the remarkable story of a groundbreaking expedition with the use of recently discovered diaries, archive material from London and New York, and newspaper reports from the time. A behind-the-scenes account of the LSO's current worldwide touring schedule finds that a surprising number of the same challenges remain. Readers join Gareth and his colleagues as they contend with airports, volcanoes, travel strikes, illness, and even life-and-death situations. As well as vivid descriptions of sitting center stage surrounded by music and working with Haitink, Gergiev, and Sir Colin Davis, readers get to glimpse into the backstage goings on and see inside the mind of a professional musician as never before. Written by someone at the center of the action, this book follows the travels of two musicians, a century apart in the same orchestra.

Published: Elliott & Thompson an imprint of Independent Publishers Group on
ISBN: 9781908739810
List price: $14.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Show Must Go On: On Tour with the LSO in 1912 & 2012
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.