• book
    0% of Shadows and Strongholds completed

From the Publisher

Superb writing, phenomenal storytelling, breathtaking detail, sparkling characterization, a moving tale of love and tragedy with plenty of wit and humor thrown in."-Bookfoolery

The one thing Brunin Fitzwarin knows best is nothing worthwhile is easy-especially not becoming a knight. But nothing will be more challenging than the past he's struggling to leave behind.

Sent away by his father, Brunin is now a knight-in-training to the Lord of Ludlow-and still utterly alone. That is, until the youngest daughter of the house, Hawise, befriends him.

With England in turmoil, Brunin must fight with his lord to support King Stephen for the English crown. As the war rages on and hits particularly close to home, Brunin must defeat the shadows of his childhood and take on the mantle of knight, confronting the future head on.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be hooked on this well-crafted medieval tale of pride, loyalty, and conflict as one man fights the shadows of his past and his future.

More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick:
Lady of the English-a medieval battle of the sexes
The Greatest Knight-the seldom told story of the Greatest Knight of the Middle Ages
The Summer Queen a novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine

What readers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds

"The era came alive on every page."

"a super mix of historic detail, great characterization and romance. What more could a girl ask for on a cold night in November."

"The development of the characters and well written prose had me hooked and has left me wanting more."

"Shadows and Strongholds was a well-written, stirring story that brings Medieval England vividly to life."

"This novel is a convincing and captivating historical fiction set in 12th century England."

What reviewers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds

"Romance, history, and action all rolled into one delicious ball."-NetGalley Review

"An exquisitely written, compelling tale-a keeper to be enjoyed more than one time."-Long and Short Reviews

What people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." USA Today

"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."-Books Monthly, UK

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." -Historical Novels Review

"[Chadwick] makes the time period come alive for the reader, utilizing small historical details in order to really set each scene."-S. Krishna's Books

"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."-The Burton Review

"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."-RT Book Reviews

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." Daily Telegraph

Published: Sourcebooks on
ISBN: 9781402274602
List price: $14.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Shadows and Strongholds
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.

Related Articles

TIME
2 min read

Four Roads Diverge in a Wood

SARAH BEGLEY CERTAIN BOOKS LEAVE READERS FEELING THEY KNOW EVERY MINUTE detail of a character’s inner life, as if they were lifelong companions and daily confidants. Paul Auster’s massive new novel, 4 3 2 1, is such a book. The concept behind the 866-page tome boils down to one life, lived four ways. By the end of the first chapter a boy named Archie Ferguson has been born to a New Jersey couple in 1947. Subsequent chapters cycle through four versions of how his life plays out: he grows up in different New Jersey towns, attends different schools and embarks on different adventures and misadv
TIME
1 min read

Crimes of the Heart

S.B. Like many of his novels, Spanish author Javier Marías’ new book, Thus Bad Begins, isn’t exactly a mystery, though it is mysterious. Here, the 65-year-old perennial Nobel favorite tells the story of Juan de Vere, a young man working for a film director, Eduardo Muriel. The older man assigns his apprentice the task of finding out a secret about a longtime friend. Meanwhile, de Vere is intrigued by the cold relationship between Muriel and his depressed wife Beatriz—at some point in their past, she did something unforgivable, also a secret, and de Vere wants to find out what. Marías (The In
TIME
2 min read

When Less Plot Is Actually More

AFTER WRITING SEVEN NOVELS AND three works of nonfiction, acclaimed British author Rachel Cusk began to find fiction “fake and embarrassing.” Two years ago, she explained to a British newspaper, “Once you have suffered sufficiently, the idea of making up John and Jane and having them do things together seems utterly ridiculous.” No surprise, then, that her 2014 novel Outline was anything but plot-driven. It was more like a series of observations by a narrator as she traveled to Greece to teach writing. The people she met along the way essentially became the subjects of miniature profiles craf