• book

From the Publisher

A New York Times Bestseller!Celebrate the 80th birthday of Regency Romance with great books from Sourcebooks Casablanca!"Sophy grabs you and takes you on a ride you don't want to end. With fabulous characters, zany laugh-out-loud moments, and the need to see just what she will come up with next."-Nelaine, Amazon.com Reviewer

When Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy is ordered to South America on Diplomatic Business he parks his only daughter, Sophy, with his sister in Berkeley Square. Forward, bold, and out-spoken, Sophy sweeps in and immediately takes ton by storm.

Upon her arrival, Sophy can see that her cousins are in a sad tangle: Ceclia is in love with a poet, Charles is engaged to a dour bluestocking, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. They all need her help and it's providential that Sophy arrives when she does.

Utterly hilarious and completely endearing, The Grand Sophy is a fan favorite from The Queen of Regency Romance. Fans of Jane Austen, Julia Quinn, and Eloisa James will be delighted by Sophy, the outrageous lengths she goes to solve everyone else's problems, and the surprises in store for everyone!

Other Regency Romances from Georgette Heyer:
Frederica
a woman seeking security for her family finds love where, and when, she least expected it
Sylvester-She meets none of his requirements for a wife. He is the chief villain in her novel.
Cotillion- A sham betrothal isn't the only thing that gets Kitty and Freddy  into trouble, but it's definitely the beginning.

What readers are saying about The Grand Sophy

"This is one of the funniest, most historically accurate and endearing Regency romances I have ever read!"

"I grinned and giggled many times at the antics of these characters, loving even those bumbling fools at which we are meant to scoff."

"This book was a madcap delight."

What reviewers are saying about The Grand Sophy

"The Grand Sophy was an exciting, charming read. The characters grab you and don't let go." Anna's Book Blog

"Fun, engaging and hilarious, I cannot recommend it more highly. Sophy is a devilishly fine girl." AustenProse

"The Grand Sophy is a very entertaining Regency romance with wonderfully eccentric characters and a very humorous plot."-Once Upon a Romance

What everyone has to say about the Queen of Regency Romance Georgette Heyer

"Reading Georgette Heyer is the next best thing to reading Jane Austen."Publishers Weekly

"Georgette Heyer was one of the great protagonists of the historical novel in the post-war golden age of the form. Her regency romances are delightful light reading..."Philippa Gregory

"[Heyer's] characters are witty and beyond charming, her prose is flawless and lighthearted, and her historical detail is immaculate."-Read All Over Reviews

"Georgette Heyer is unbeatable." -Sunday Telegraph

Topics: London, England, Witty, Horses, Scandal, Feminism, Family, Cousins, Domestic, and Comedy of Manners

Published: Sourcebooks on
ISBN: 9781402227066
List price: $13.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Grand Sophy
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.

Related Articles

The Atlantic
17 min read

All the Other Julie Becks and Me

My name is not particularly weird, but it’s not that common either. According to the website HowManyofMe.com, which plumbs U.S. Census data, there are a ton of Julies in the United States—565,224 of them. And that doesn’t even count all the Julias, Juliettes and Juliannas who might also go by Julie. There are 112,182 Becks in the country, and just 195 Julie Becks. That seems to be pretty middle of the road. My two sisters, who have unusually spelled names, have just 4 and 16 name doppelgangers in the country. My dad, who has one of the most common male names of all time, has more than 1,000. I
NPR
4 min read

This Week In Race: Dave Says Sorry, Coin Controversy, Health Hazards Of Segregation

Oh, Code Switch fam: Has there ever been such a week? Because of the virtual smorgasbord of unfortunate news, you may have skipped putting these on your plate. Dig in. Keep a chaser of Pepto handy. In policing, it's feeling like a lethal version of Groundhog Day. This time, a Tulsa, Okla., police officer who shot and killed an unarmed man with his hands raised was acquitted of first-degree manslaughter. Officer Betty Shelby says when she came upon Terrence Crutcher outside his SUV, she thought he was going for a gun when he reached into his car. Crutcher was unarmed. "I did everything I could
TIME
2 min read

Four Roads Diverge in a Wood

SARAH BEGLEY CERTAIN BOOKS LEAVE READERS FEELING THEY KNOW EVERY MINUTE detail of a character’s inner life, as if they were lifelong companions and daily confidants. Paul Auster’s massive new novel, 4 3 2 1, is such a book. The concept behind the 866-page tome boils down to one life, lived four ways. By the end of the first chapter a boy named Archie Ferguson has been born to a New Jersey couple in 1947. Subsequent chapters cycle through four versions of how his life plays out: he grows up in different New Jersey towns, attends different schools and embarks on different adventures and misadv