Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Only $9.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

UnavailableBlack Boy White School
Currently unavailable on Scribd

Black Boy White School

Continue browsing

Currently unavailable on Scribd

Black Boy White School

ratings:
4/5 (6 ratings)
Length:
183 pages
3 hours
Publisher:
Released:
Jan 3, 2012
ISBN:
9780062099174
Format:
Book

Description

In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in—or not—

Anthony “Ant” Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.

Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him “Tony,” assumes he’s from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.

As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he’s in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.

In debut author Brian F. Walker’s honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?

Publisher:
Released:
Jan 3, 2012
ISBN:
9780062099174
Format:
Book

About the author

Brian F. Walker grew up in East Cleveland, where he ran with gangsters, drug dealers, and thugs until age fourteen, when he was sent to an elite boarding school and a world he had no way of understanding. For the past seventeen years he has taught high school English, coached basketball, and served as an admissions officer at a prep school in Weston, Massachusetts. He recently won a grant for fiction writing from the Massachusetts Cultural Council, in addition to numerous awards for playwriting, short stories, and journalism. Brian lives in Massachusetts with his wife and daughter.


Related to Black Boy White School

Related Books

Related Articles


Reviews

What people think about Black Boy White School

4.2
6 ratings / 2 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews

  • (4/5)
    A solid, realistic story with strong characters that effectively tackles issues of class and race.
  • (3/5)
    This book was not written for me. Nevertheless, I read it. And I've been of constant turmoil since. This book forced me to think about race and poverty: people I don't think about in depth, a sector of society I interact with only on the superficial level, but of whom I still have many opinions. I gained a glimpse into the similar and dissimilar ways young people of differing backgrounds engage in destructive behavior. I'm glad Walker shared this story. But it feels unfinished. This, I guess, leaves much open for discussion. I would highly recommend this book for young people, African American and integrated, grades 6th through 9th, to read and talk about.