The Cider House Rules
0% of The Cider House Rules completed


From the Publisher

First published in 1985 by William Morrow, The Cider House Rules is John Irving's sixth novel. Set in rural Maine in the first half of the twentieth century, it tells the story of Dr. Wilbur Larch—saint and obstetrician, founder and director of the orphanage in the town of St. Cloud's, ether addict and abortionist. It is also the story of Dr. Larch's favorite orphan, Homer Wells, who is never adopted.

Topics: Maine, Macabre, Abortions, Doctors, Love Triangle, Adoption, Pregnancy, Ethics, Made into a Movie, Family, Friendship, Morality, Social Class, Friends to Lovers, Childhood, Realism, 20th Century, Male Author, American Author, Contemplative, 1950s, 1920s, 1930s, 1940s, Epic, Dramatic, and Tragic

Published: HarperCollins on
ISBN: 9780062235183
List price: $12.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Cider House Rules
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.