Start Reading

Women of the Year

207 pages4 hours


Horse of the Year is the highest honor bestowed in Thoroughbred racing, and ten superlative fillies have worn this mantle of greatness. Women of the Year profiles these outstanding racehorses and chronicles the eras in which they raced. They include Miss Woodford, who won the title in consecutive years in the late 19th century; Regret, the 1915 Kentucky Derby winner; and Calumet Farm’s wartime heroine Twilight Tear. The 1945 champ Busher raced for movie mogul Louis B. Mayer while Moccasin, the 1965 champion, raced for the renowned Claiborne Farm. Modern champion females are the French superstar All Along, the great gray Lady’s Secret, and the new century’s durable Azeri. Each profile contains fascinating information about the breeders, owners, and trainers of these remarkable athletes.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.