Start Reading

More Good Old Stuff: Short Stories

288 pages7 hours


More Good Old Stuff, a classic collection of short fiction from crime writer John D. MacDonald, the beloved author of Cape Fear and the Travis McGee series, is now available as an eBook.
The companion to The Good Old Stuff, this anthology features fourteen more early stories by one of America’s premier authors of hard-boiled noir. Culled from the hundreds that John D. MacDonald published in the wildly popular pulp magazines of the 1940s and ’50s, these are electrifying tales of murder, corruption, intrigue, and revenge: a serial widow making a fortune by murdering her husbands . . . an amnesiac being watched by the mob . . . an ex-cop trying to crack the case that nearly wrecked his life. All are told through MacDonald’s vivid language and taut storytelling—the hallmarks of a writer who holds a distinguished place in the popular canon.
This collection includes “Deadly Damsel,” “State Police Report That . . . ,” “Death for Sale,” “A Corpse in His Dreams,” “I Accuse Myself,” “A Place to Live,” “Neighborly Interest,” “The Night Is Over,” “Secret Stain,” “Even Up the Odds,” “Verdict,” “The High Gray Walls of Hate,” “Unmarried Widow,” and “You Remember Jeannie.”
Features a new Introduction by Dean Koontz
Praise for John D. MacDonald
The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller.”—Stephen King
“My favorite novelist of all time.”—Dean Koontz
“To diggers a thousand years from now, the works of John D. MacDonald would be a treasure on the order of the tomb of Tutankhamen.”—Kurt Vonnegut
“A master storyteller, a masterful suspense writer . . . John D. MacDonald is a shining example for all of us in the field. Talk about the best.”—Mary Higgins Clark

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.