Saint Francis in the Garden, the third book of the Michael Forester series, brings full circle the Flat Creek boy’s gift that has in the past provided both insight and despair. Religious intolerance and corporate greed in the heartland provide the catalyst. His possession of the ‘sight’ influences his protection of a virtually unknown couple in need, while his kindly nature and also his rather brutal tendencies serve them well. His waking dreams of future dangers weave intrigue to storm-like intensity thereby reminding us that avoidance of risk by this Kelly is not an option. “Trouble finds you. It always has,” a friend tells him. Again stretched to his physical and mental limits among the pristine lakes of the North Country, the last of the Barry County Kellys struggles while clashing head-on with death on Norway Island.

The author has spent the better part of thirty years teaching science in rural Ozark schools. Firefighting in the Northwest, serving as policeman in the army, and extensive traveling in his youth provided valued experiences. During his twentieth year a desire to write was sparked by two contemplative months as a fire lookout on an isolated peak above a wild river in Idaho. Different episodes in Europe provided opportunities to travel via train, bicycle, and his ‘thumb’ from Athens to Amsterdam. Presently, he resides with his wife on a hundred acre farm where raising cattle and wine grapes have now taken the place of raising children. Five books later he maintains his quest to write novel tales for those of noble heart.

Published: iUniverseBooks on
ISBN: 9781475992977
List price: $3.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Saint Francis in the Garden by Frank S. Johnson
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.