Yup, we’ve got that one

And more than one million more. Become a member today and read free for two weeks.

Read free for two weeks

In Searching for God Knows What, best-selling author Donald Miller invites you to reconnect with a faith worth believing. With humor, intelligence, and his trademark writing style, he shows that  relationship is God’s way of leading us to redemption. And our need for redemption drives us to relationship with God. “Being a Christian,” Miller writes, “is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas.”

Maybe you are a Christian wondering what faith you signed up for. Or maybe you don’t believe anything and are daring someone—anyone—to show you a genuine example of authentic faith. Somewhere beyond the self-help formulas, fancy marketing, and easy promises there is a life-changing experience with God waiting. Searching for God Knows What weaves together beautiful stories and fresh perspectives on the Bible to show one man’s journey to find it.

“Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller’s newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market’s most creative writers.” —Christianity Today

“If you have felt that Jesus is someone you respect and admire—but Christianity is something that repels you—Searching for God Knows What will give you hope that you still can follow Jesus and be part of a church without the trappings of organized religion.” —Dan Kimball Author of The Emerging Church and Pastor of Vintage Faith Church, Santa Cruz, CA

“For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. He perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner . . . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start.” —Relevant

 

Published: Thomas Nelson on Oct 13, 2004
ISBN: 9781418529956
List price: $15.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Searching for God Knows What
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.
Clear rating

What if the Christian church is so focused on theology that it's lost sight of what really makes one a Christian? Miller contends that the American church has reduced a complex relationship with Jesus Christ to a formulaic gospel of steps to becoming a Christian. In Searching for God Knows What, he seeks to emphasize the relational nature of the gospel and demonstrates how different a worldview this would be from mainstream American culture.A friend of mine lent this to me months ago because it related to a conversation we were having at the time. Of course, I've since forgotten the original impetus, but it didn't really matter in the end. Miller's style is extremely conversational and not particularly well-written, with a few over-the-top analogies to make his points. At least once, he got his facts wrong, as when he says that King Herod had the children of Israel murdered (according to Matthew 2, he ordered that boys under the age of 2 in Bethlehem and the vicinity be killed, not the entirety of Israel). Despite these flaws, from time to time a sentence or a paragraph would make me stop in my reading tracks. He would manage to crystallize an idea or use an illustration that was truly thought-provoking. I didn't always agree with Miller, ultimately. He clearly does not "get" sports, for example, and his politics clash with mine. But I enjoyed the challenge to think about exactly what I believe about my relationship with God, and how this necessarily affects my relationship with others.read more
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
We are all on a search for love - but as the song says, most of the time we are looking in all the wrong places. We seek affirmation from other people, from relationships both real and imagined; when in reality we should be looking only to God for the love we desperately need. In his book "Searching for God Knows What", Donald Miller tells us that we find this not through following the rituals of religion; instead, we learn about God's love through having an intimate relationship with Him. Miller suggests that perhaps Christianity is less about following a set of rules and regulations, and more about falling in love with Jesus. The really stunning thing about this love story is not that we should love Jesus...but that Jesus loves us and sacrificed everything for us, to bring communion back to our broken relationship with Him. When you really believe this, it will change not only the way you love God, but the way you love others as well - not as people who can give you the love you need, but as people you can love just for who they are.read more
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Ahhhh......such good unspoken truth proclaimed with boldness and bluntness! Refreshing and freeing!read more
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Read all reviews

Reviews

What if the Christian church is so focused on theology that it's lost sight of what really makes one a Christian? Miller contends that the American church has reduced a complex relationship with Jesus Christ to a formulaic gospel of steps to becoming a Christian. In Searching for God Knows What, he seeks to emphasize the relational nature of the gospel and demonstrates how different a worldview this would be from mainstream American culture.A friend of mine lent this to me months ago because it related to a conversation we were having at the time. Of course, I've since forgotten the original impetus, but it didn't really matter in the end. Miller's style is extremely conversational and not particularly well-written, with a few over-the-top analogies to make his points. At least once, he got his facts wrong, as when he says that King Herod had the children of Israel murdered (according to Matthew 2, he ordered that boys under the age of 2 in Bethlehem and the vicinity be killed, not the entirety of Israel). Despite these flaws, from time to time a sentence or a paragraph would make me stop in my reading tracks. He would manage to crystallize an idea or use an illustration that was truly thought-provoking. I didn't always agree with Miller, ultimately. He clearly does not "get" sports, for example, and his politics clash with mine. But I enjoyed the challenge to think about exactly what I believe about my relationship with God, and how this necessarily affects my relationship with others.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
We are all on a search for love - but as the song says, most of the time we are looking in all the wrong places. We seek affirmation from other people, from relationships both real and imagined; when in reality we should be looking only to God for the love we desperately need. In his book "Searching for God Knows What", Donald Miller tells us that we find this not through following the rituals of religion; instead, we learn about God's love through having an intimate relationship with Him. Miller suggests that perhaps Christianity is less about following a set of rules and regulations, and more about falling in love with Jesus. The really stunning thing about this love story is not that we should love Jesus...but that Jesus loves us and sacrificed everything for us, to bring communion back to our broken relationship with Him. When you really believe this, it will change not only the way you love God, but the way you love others as well - not as people who can give you the love you need, but as people you can love just for who they are.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Ahhhh......such good unspoken truth proclaimed with boldness and bluntness! Refreshing and freeing!
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
I liked a lot of the ideas in this book, particularly that Christianity isn't a formula but a relationship with God, and that Christianity shouldn't be used to make a person feel that he or she is better than someone else. In general, I liked the style--it's very conversational, and the author is refreshingly honest about the odd things that he thinks about and his own failings. I do think that he needed a better or more careful editor. The book had several spelling mistakes (some of them repeated) and other simple errors that should have been corrected.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Okay...this book is more difficult to read...still a good book...but I haven't finished it.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
A disappointment compared to Blue Like Jazz. Seemed to have no point whatsoever.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Load more
scribd