Reader reviews for The Quick and the Thread: An Embroidery Mystery

Marcy Singer allows herself to be persuaded by her best friend to leave her corporate job in San Francisco and open a needlework shop in Tallulah Falls, Oregon. Her opening day takes an unexpected turn when she discovers the murdered body of the shop's former tenant in the storeroom. He had just enough time before his death to leave a cryptic message. Even though the message makes no sense to Marcy, the fact that she's seen it puts her in danger. Will she get to the bottom of the mystery in time to save herself from becoming the next victim?This is a promising start for a cozy series. The characters and setting are appealing. I'm partial to the librarian who is one of the secondary characters in the series. Marcy didn't do a lot of the foolish things that get many cozy heroines into trouble, and she viewed the police as allies rather than adversaries. This is a series I'm sure I'll continue to read.Readers hoping for a read-alike for Monica Ferris's Crewel World series should be aware that needlework isn't as integral to the plot in this series.
Permalink · Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Marcy Singer leaves the rat race of San Francisco to open her own needlework shop in Tallulah Falls, Oregon where her former college roommate and her husband own the coffee shop next door.. The morning after her open house, she discovers a body in the storage room. The deceased had begun engraving a message with an embroidery needle. It's up to the detectives (and Marcy, of course) to puzzle out the message and find out who the murderer is before another person becomes a victim. This was a good debut mystery. There were several viable suspects with enough red herrings to keep it entertaining. The author used a lot of references to older television programs in her narrative. They often provided just the right amount of humor or the exact picture or amount of descriptiveness to convey the point. I do hope that as Marcy's customer base grows in subsequent novels, that a more intimate group of stitchers is developed, such as the group in Monica Ferris' novels. There is still a little something lacking in the atmosphere of the needlework shop and even in the town's atmosphere. It was, however, a good beginning to the series, and I do plan to read the next installment.
Permalink · Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
The Quick and the Thread is the first book of An Embroidery Mystery series. Marcy Singer leaves San Francisco for Tallulah Falls, Oregon to pursue her dream of owning her own embroidery shop The Seven Year-Stitch. Her best friend and former college roommate, Sadie and her husband Blake, also reside there. The couple owns MacKenzies’ Mochas, which is conveniently located next door to Marcy’s shop.The night of her open house, former tenant Tim Enright crashes the party and is determined to speak with Marcy privately. Turned off by his odd behavior (and assumption he’s intoxicated), Marcy keeps herself at arm’s length. Later after everyone has left for the evening, Marcy, Sadie, Blake and Todd (the man that Sadie is trying to fix her up with) are cleaning up when they hear a strange noise in the back. Blake and Todd make light of it and joke that it’s only a bear. The next morning Marcy discovers Enright’s body.Before his death, Enright scratches a message on the wall that’s a clue to his murder. Marcy is suddenly being looked at as a suspect and decides she needs learn the meaning behind the message to clear her name. She begins speaking to the local residents and as a result another person is killed.
Permalink · Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
In this first book of the Embroidery Mystery series, we meet Marcy Singer, who has given up her accounting career in San Francisco to start an embroidery shop called The Seven Year Stitch Tallulah Falls, a small town on the Oregon coast.Marcy is understandably excited about her Grand Opening party, but the occasion is marred by the arrival of Tim Enright, owner of the failed hardware store that formerly occupied the spot. Appearing to be inebriated, Tim keeps trying to tell her something important, but Marcy manages to avoid him.The next morning, she his startled to find his corpse in her storage room, and a cryptic message scratched on the wall with a tapestry needle. The local police chief seems ambivalent about the message, but Marcy is convinced it means something and begins to look into its significance herself.What she finds is a convoluted financial scheme that appears to involve everyone in town, including her best friend Sadie's husband Blake.Amanda Lee is a pseudonym for Gayle Trent, who is the author of the Daphne Martin cake decorator mysteries. Her experience as a writer shows in the way she manages to conceal which characters are on the side of the law and which ones aren't.The second book in the series, Stitch Me Deadly is due in early 2011.
Permalink · Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Marcy Singer has a regular old 9 to 5 accounting job in San Francisco but her college roommate, Sadie, has better ideas. She lures Marcy to the tranquil town of Tallaluah Falls, OR to realize her secret dream of opening a needlework shop. The location is perfect, right next store to Sadie's Coffee shop.But the grand opening event doesn't go exactly as planned when the old tenant shows up drunk and causes a disturbance. Things get worse when the next morning Marcy discovers him dead in her storeroom.The flow of this cozy mystery was great - just the right blend of introduction to the characters and locale with the clues woven in to solve the mystery. Looking forward to the next installment.
Permalink · Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
scribd