Find your next favorite book

Become a member today and read free for 30 daysStart your free 30 days

Book Information

Weeds: In Defense of Nature's Most Unloved Plants

Weeds: In Defense of Nature's Most Unloved Plants

Book Actions

Start Reading
Ratings:
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars3.5/5 (8 ratings)
Length: 367 pages5 hours

Editor's Note

Spring gardening…
Even as we thrill at the sight of daffodils blossoming forth, spring also heralds the arrival of weeds. This entertaining defense of the uninvited plants will make you look twice at dandelions.

Description

“[A] witty and beguiling meditation on weeds and their wily ways….You will never look at a weed, or flourish a garden fork, in the same way again.”
—Richard Holmes, author of The Age of Wonder

“In this fascinating, richly detailed book, Richard Mabey gives weeds their full due.”
—Carl Zimmer, author of Evolution

Richard Mabey, Great Britain’s Britain’s “greatest living nature writer” (London Times), has written a stirring and passionate defense of nature’s most unloved plants.  Weeds is a fascinating, eye-opening, and vastly entertaining appreciation of the natural world’s unappreciated wildflowers that will appeal to fans of David Attenborough, Robert Sullivan’s Rats, Amy Stewart’s Wicked Plants, and to armchair gardeners, horticulturists, green-thumbs, all those who stop to smell the flowers.

Read More
Weeds: In Defense of Nature's Most Unloved Plants

Book Actions

Start Reading

Book Information

Weeds: In Defense of Nature's Most Unloved Plants

Ratings:
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars3.5/5 (8 ratings)
Length: 367 pages5 hours

Editor's Note

Spring gardening…
Even as we thrill at the sight of daffodils blossoming forth, spring also heralds the arrival of weeds. This entertaining defense of the uninvited plants will make you look twice at dandelions.

Description

“[A] witty and beguiling meditation on weeds and their wily ways….You will never look at a weed, or flourish a garden fork, in the same way again.”
—Richard Holmes, author of The Age of Wonder

“In this fascinating, richly detailed book, Richard Mabey gives weeds their full due.”
—Carl Zimmer, author of Evolution

Richard Mabey, Great Britain’s Britain’s “greatest living nature writer” (London Times), has written a stirring and passionate defense of nature’s most unloved plants.  Weeds is a fascinating, eye-opening, and vastly entertaining appreciation of the natural world’s unappreciated wildflowers that will appeal to fans of David Attenborough, Robert Sullivan’s Rats, Amy Stewart’s Wicked Plants, and to armchair gardeners, horticulturists, green-thumbs, all those who stop to smell the flowers.

Read More